A few of my favourite things #2 – thrift shop finds and a blog

A few recent purchases

 I took my own challenge to see what cool thing/s I could buy this week for either a loonie or a toonie. Here’s some of my best finds:

Added this to my son's growing vinyl collection

The Beach Boys “Spirit of America” double album on vinyl in mint condition, just 75cents at the MCC Abby East Thrift Shop, for my vinyl collecting son, who picked up YES’s “Fragile” album and a 45” single of “Footloose” on the same day. I’m going to dedicate a future blog to his vinyl finds, so stay tuned for that.

the artwork on the album cover is fantastic

 

love, love, love these shoes

 Brazilian leather shoes – okay, these were $3, but OH MY GOSH, they are so comfortable. I love the stitching detail on the toes and they make a pair of jeans look über cool. Found this at the M2/W2 Thrift Shop in Abbotsford.

a cheap indulgence

Brown leather belt, just a loonie, at the Life’s Second Chance Thrift Store in Abbotsford.  I’ve had braided belts like this before and I know they don’t last long but I love the look of them and when you pay a dollar you don’t feel as bad when they finally fall apart. This one looks like it’s never been worn.

 What did you find this week?

 A favourite blog

One of my favourite blogs

 When I first thought about starting a thrift blog, I decided to check out other bloggers to see what they were like. One of the first ones I stumbled upon was Apron Thrift Girl, written by Selena Cate of California. Selena is a professional thrift shopper (yes it’s true) and reseller. Her goal is to make enough money from reselling each month to pay for her children’s private school fees, which she is able to do by reselling items she finds at thrift shops, estate sales and the like. What I love about her blog is the open, honest, conversational way she writes about her life as a wife, mother and professional thrift shopper. She shares her ideas, tips and tricks freely – and has tons of creative ideas. Her photography is stunning – in fact, it was the photos on her blog that made me realize I was going to have to learn how to use our good camera if I was really going to be serious about blogging. The other thing I’ve found is that her readers are just as interesting and generous with their advice, tidbits and comments.

 Reselling is something I’d like to explore in the future as a way to earn extra income and I’ve already learned a ton from reading her blog. ”Meeting Selena” has been added to my bucket list.

 Do you have a favourite blog?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A few of my favourite things #2 – thrift shop finds and a blog

  1. Jennifer says:

    I just stumbled upon your blog and completely love it! I am with the Salvation Army (the Aldergrove store) and was thrilled to see you are in Abbotsford. Would love to have an opportunity to chat with you.

    • Pleased to meet you, Jennifer! It’s always great to meet a fellow thrift enthusiast – especiall one from a shop i have never been to! Where abouts in Aldergrove is the Salvation Army? I’m going to have to check it out!

Comments are closed.