Size Matters

the lovely Marilyn

I read recently that Marilyn Monroe was a size 12, which made me very happy until I read this blog which debunked that myth but what was interesting to me were the facts about her weight and size changes over her career – everything from 118lbs to 140 lbs. Now that’s something I can relate to (the fluctuation, not the numbers necessarily!)

Well, if Marilyn had shopped at a thrift shop, she would have had to do what all of us should do: shop around “your” size. I find that even in retail clothing stores there is no such thing as standard sizing. What is a size 10 in one shop would be a size 12 in another, an 8 in yet another. Sometimes it depends on how much lycra or spandex has been added to the fibre mix (“stretch” is my favourite word.)

S,M,L,XL the funny thing is the XL is the same size as the S. ya, whatever

I have clothing items in my closet that range from size 6 to size 11 and they all fit. I have t-shirts that are  small and some that are large. It just depends on the piece of clothing –and sometimes I think it might depend on where it was made. I even have shoes that vary from size 6 to 7.5 and they all fit too.

New Balance size 6, Adidas size 7 - NB thrifted, Adidas from Costco

So getting rid of the idea of what “size” you are and simply learning to eyeball clothing is a skill I think we all have to learn. Nowhere is this more true than at a thrift shop because you never know if the shoe or article of clothing you’re considering has been mis-sized or had the wrong label sewn into it.

My little black dress (Value Village $8) Indian Shawl ( Above the Underground $4) Beaded shoes (Value Village $5) "Chandelier" Earrings (from my brother in law, who bought them in Thailand)

When I am looking for something – like this LBD I purchased recently for a Gala event I attended – I look at dresses of all sizes. If the clothing is hung according to size, then I’ll start in the size 6 end of the rack and look right through up to the size 12 end. When looking for this dress, I tried on size 8 dresses that were too big and size 11 dresses that were too small. I bought this one because it’s linen, it’s lined and it made me feel like a million bucks.

So who says size matters? What’s important is that you’re comfortable in your body, that you’re doing what you need to do to be healthy, and that you’re happy – because a smile fits everyone, no matter what size you are.

This entry was posted in fashion advice, Thrift Shopping. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Size Matters

  1. sonja everson says:

    Ang, you look like a million bucks in that dress too! I love your last line about the smile! Sometimes a smile is the best and only thing you need to wear (according to my husband ;-).

  2. Laura says:

    I found this especially true when shopping for my wedding dress (25 years ago!). I believe it’s a fashion industry strategy (conspiracy?)–you are more likely to buy if a smaller size that fits.

Comments are closed.