Thrift Shopping in Osoyoos, BC

As promised, here’s the scoop on a fabulous thrift shop in Osoyoos. When we holiday in Oliver (just down the road) we often make a trip into Osoyoos to do a little shopping. There’s a fun hardware store in town (where even dogs are welcome to come in for a biscuit) and there used to be a dingy, smelly thrift shop on the main drag but it’s gone. Thankfully, I asked a shop clerk if there was another thrift shop in town and she directed me to the Osoyoos United Church Thrift Shop, just two blocks off the main drag on – wait for it – Spartan Street. Isn’t that great?

The shop is located in the church basement, which is smart given how hot it can get in Osoyoos. It’s a little crowded but they make use of every inch of space. Conversations overheard were proof that this is a community meeting place where people know each other by name. The shop supports a whole variety of charities and is completely run by volunteers. The lovely lady behind the counter told us that their only overhead costs are the few utilities they use so nearly all of their proceeds go to charity.

cluttered but organized!

For value, this is the place to go. I found two pairs of dress pants for John with the store tags still on for $5 each. The happy thing here is that they’re his length (31) which is nearly impossible to find.

store tags still on!

My sister, Benita, (see my previous blog about my comment on thrifting with her) found this really great sailor jacket for me – isn’t the fabric cool? I think it’s home-made because there are no tags inside at all. Since we’re both nautical nuts, it’ll be a jacket we share.

i love how the seamstress matched the patterns. well done, don't ya think?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Benita found a great pink Gap t-shirt and a fantastic white beach cover-up/blouse for $2. One niece found some belts and the other niece found a “cute “ little dress, also for $2, and earings to match. We laughed all morning when Aaron pointed out to us that women really need to find a different descriptor for things. “Why is everything ‘cute’?” he asked. Good question – but try and find another word, I dare you. Aaron found a definitely NOT cute t-shirt that he bought – and wore – for fun. I think. All he needs is some serious bling.

feel free to suggest a caption for this photo.

He also found a couple of records for dirt cheap. (There’s also a surfer shop on Main Street in Osoyoos that sells vinyl where he picked up a few others for a good price too.)

It was a fun shop to dig through and I’m sure we’ll be back next year. Where did you shop on your holidays?

 

 

This entry was posted in Thrift Shopping, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Thrift Shopping in Osoyoos, BC

  1. cathy says:

    I will have to let mum know about Osoyoos! She says there is a thrift shop in Summerland that opens at 1 pm on Tuesdays after the weekend and that people line up it is that good!

    (PS nice purse from the Oliver thrift shop! And the ladies are so sweet there!)

  2. Megan says:

    So great! I love the basement, and that it’s crowded, and that it’s run entirely by volunteers.

    I also love that boat coat. I’m always impressed when someone goes the extra mile to make a garment just right.

    Thanks for the full post. I was really excited to see all the pics.

  3. Jackie K says:

    Love that nautical jacket!!

  4. Deana Wood says:

    That looks like a great thrift store. I love the ones that are a little bit “junky” & unorganized looking b/c they seem to yield the most treasure!

  5. Liane - Boutique Lady says:

    This post is just timely….we are heading to Osoyoos next week just for an overnighter and I was going to google thrift shops there….but now thanks to you I know exactly where to go and I can’t wait!!!!!!! Who the heck wants to go to a mall when you can go to a thrift store?? So much more fun, n’est-ce-pas? Who knows, I may even score on a Kate Spade purse!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks.

    • angelika says:

      If you find a Kate Spade purse, I’ll feature you on my blog! LOL. Have a great time – can’t wait to hear what you’ve found!

  6. BeckyKay says:

    That nautical jacket is great! Love it!

  7. gk says:

    Aaron’s shirt is absolutely priceless! Too bad it didn’t come with faux chest hair… some bling and a piece off of an old bear skin rug would be perfect! Oh, and Aaron, you’re holding the wine glass wrong. You’re in wine country, surely you should know how to hold a glass of white 🙂

  8. Carol says:

    Caption for Photo “I think I dated him in High School”

    Seriously I love your blog!

  9. Pingback: Thrifting during the Lazy Days of Summer | thrift shopper for peace

Comments are closed.