Lessons in Packing

So, after watching Jessi’s video (see my last blog) about traveling light, I remembered that I went to Cambodia/Laos for nearly 3 weeks and didn’t check any baggage. For my upcoming trip to Scotland, I won’t do exactly that but I am travelling light – at least going there.

borrowing mom's suitcases. she says her suitcases see more of the world than she does.

My friend Ann told me about this clever trick that she and her hubby often do: pack a small suitcase and stick it in a larger one. This way, when I come back, I’ll have a whole huge suitcase to bring home goodies.

isn't this a good idea?

Since I’m planning on doing some Christmas shopping while there, I thought I’d try this. The trick is still trying to get 3 weeks worth of stuff into the small one.

doesn't look like much, does it?

Here’s what I’ve packed in the small suitcase:

2 pairs of pants, 2 t-shirt,s 4 long sleeved t –shirts,  7 pairs of undies, 7 bras, 7 pairs of socks, 1 hat, 1 scarf, 1 pair of gloves, 1 pair of shoes, My toiletries, Map of thrift shops in Edinburgh (I know, right?), List of thrift shops in London, Extra book to read.

look it fits!

In my carry on I’ll have a change of undies and t-shirt, my prescription meds, some toiletries (like my toothbrush and toothpaste) book, magazine, crossword puzzle, journal, pen, camera and all the rechargers etc. that go with that, and teeny laptop to store photos on.  I’ll also carry my small cross body purse.

and they close!

I’ll wear sweats, t-shirt, socks and running shoes and a fleece vest and ski jacket.

doesn't look like much but i think it'll do!

I might still add my rain pants. Did I forget anything?

This entry was posted in Thrift Shopping, travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lessons in Packing

  1. Cyndy B says:

    Don’t forget your passport!
    BonVoyage! Send a postcard…or just bring it along next time we see you!

    • angelika says:

      ya, passport and british pounds! i picked those up today – the queen looks alot younger on their money than on ours. wonder if that means anything. LOL! look for your post card in the mail!

  2. Waltrude Gortzen says:

    Wishing the both of you a most wonderful and safe trip.:-)
    God Bless!

Comments are closed.