Rethinking the three Rs

No, not “readin’, writin’, ‘rithmatic” – but Reduce, Reuse, Recycle. Which of those three do you identify with most? Which do you practice most?

A Vancouver Landfill. You can almost smell it, can't ya?

Reusing and Recycling are inherent to the practice of Thrift Shopping – but as I mused in this previous post – I’m not sure that it is always conducive to Reducing. Reusing and Recycling are at one end of an equation – but Reducing is where we all should be starting: not bringing waste into our homes in the first place. Something to think about today: Black Friday.

In their documentary, The Clean Bin Project, Vancouverites Jen and Grant challenge each other to go a year without buying anything that will bring waste into their own home, the idea being that their garbage can (or bin) would remain clean for the whole year. Think about that for a minute – for one second even. Can you imagine doing that?! They grow some of their own food,  make their own laundry soap and toothpaste… it is a daunting challenge.

can you imagine this for a whole year?

I haven’t seen the movie yet but I’m ordering it. As a dedicated thrifter, I know I’m already committed to reusing and recycling; I think I need to challenge myself in the reducing department. What kind of packaging comes into my home? What would it take for me to keep my garbage can empty for a month, let alone a year? Do I feel a New Year’s resolution coming on? (gasp!)

For those of you who are interested and living in the Lower Mainland in BC, there’s a screening of the documentary in Whiterock tonight and at McGee Secondary in Vancouver on Monday. You can get all the details on the documetary website (above link). Check out their blog too.

So what do you think? If you were going to attempt to focus on Reducing, where would you begin?

This entry was posted in Thrift Shopping and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.