The 12 Days of Thrift-hearted Christmas

I’ve decided that I’m going to take 12 days before Christmas to share some ideas with you for this holiday season that have thrift at their heart. This is not just about buying gifts at a thrift shop – although there will be some of that, for sure – it’s about the whole idea of reducing, reusing, recycling, rethinking how we do some of the things we typically do at this time of year. I don’t promise that I’ll do this for 12 days in a row, but I do promise I’ll post 12 blogs before December 24th. I hope that you’ll also share your ideas here so that others in the community can benefit from your wisdom! Here we go:

Day One: Make your own Christmas Cards

 

some of the cards i've made over the years

Before you run away screaming because you’re expecting a scrap-booking lesson, rest assured that’s not what I’m talking about! I’ve made my own cards for years, but I have had up to 100 people on my Christmas card list, so making my own cards always meant that it had to be really simple. I used to get ideas from Christmas songs and based my cards on the lyrics favourite or unusual carols. I found the envelopes for the card below at a thrift shop and that sparked the idea for the card.

based on "the holly and the ivy"

Then I got the idea of recycling old Christmas cards into new ones – that’s where these Christmas tree themed ones came from. My favourite cards made from recycled Christmas cards were done in a quilt star pattern – but I didn’t have any of those in my file to show you.

i like the progression on this one

 

all i needed for this was two shaped hole punches and a pair of scissors

Last year, I got the fun idea of using Christmas themed comic strips as the basis for my cards. I started early in the year and used colour comics, black and white strip comics and single panel comics – so I actually had cards that were various shapes and sizes. I cut the comic out and if it was a colour comic, I glued it onto contrasting-coloured construction paper; if it was a black and white comic, I’d first glue it onto a contrasting strip of red or green paper then glue that onto a white card stock. The fun part of doing this was that the comic strips often reminded me of the people I’d plan to send them to, so it was a way of personalizing them. Each card was unique and I had a smile on my face as I made them and as I signed them. I think kids would enjoy making cards from comics. (This is actually something you could do year-round.)

Look for card stock, envelopes and construction paper at thrift shops; I’ve found all of the above in craft sections of various shops in Abbotsford.

I have another even easier card idea that I’ll share on Day Two.

Have you ever made your own cards?

This entry was posted in Christmas cards and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The 12 Days of Thrift-hearted Christmas

  1. Jen CleanBin says:

    Thanks for the previous mention! I’m looking forward to your 12 days of Christmas – your card post has already given me some great ideas. Now to actually sit down and do them!

  2. Laura says:

    Great card ideas! I think simple is wonderful. I’ve made my own cards for years as well, often motivated by a card exchange I used to participate in. Handmade greetings, even the simplest ones, have always been the most appreciated by me as a recipient too.

    • angelika says:

      me too. one of my greatest pet peeves is the emailed card or even letter – it just feels lazy, somehow. i’d rather not get anything at all than get one of those. a tangible card with a simple greetng and signature in it means someone took the time to think of you in a special way.

Comments are closed.