12 Days of Thrift-hearted Christmas: Day 8 – Christmas music

New Lance Odegard CD - SO GOOD.

UPDATE! Below i talked about how I love to support indie artists and I’m going to do that right now. I picked up this CD by Lance Odegard on the weekend and it is FABULOUS. It’s just great music – folky, guitar -based stuff – but with lyrics that make you think. And the good news is, you can download this album from Lance’s bandcamp page! Merry Christmas!

I am one of those people who start listening to Christmas music in October (well, okay, sometimes in August.) My excuse is that I have so much Christmas music, that if I want to listen to it all, I can’t possibly wait until December.

i have over 2 dozen christmas CDs - here's just a few that i've either bought or often seen at thrift shops

I am also one of those people who will always purchase CDs because I love to see the cover art, the liner notes, the thank-yous from the band and all that goes into creating the package. To me, an album is much more than the music itself; it’s a whole art package.

Many of my Christmas CDs were gifted to me, some were purchased new at Christmas events  – and if I’m supporting an up-and-coming, indie artist, I have no qualms about buying new music. But a lot of my music was purchased at thrift shops.

Seasons of Grace is one of my year-round faves. i LOVE this album. i've seen it at thrift shops but you can also purchase it on her website: helmasawatzky.com

One GREAT way to preview Christmas albums (or any other music, for that matter) is to visit your local library and borrow a whole bunch. This is a risk-free way of listening to tunes and then deciding if you want to spend the money to own it. If you don’t have a lot of Christmas music and you’re hosting a party, then this is also a way to fill your evening with festive tunes.

Another way to preview music is to have a music potluck. Invite some friends over for a appies or dessert and ask each one to bring their favourite CD/download along and have a listening party.

This is also a fantasic CD - and it's not what you immediately expect from this famous Canadian children's entertainer

And now, I have a quest for those of you who know me well and live near me: one of my favourite CDs, Fred Penner’s The Season  has been damaged. Seriously, this is one of my faves because it’s not a typical Fred CD. While it does have children’s tunes on it, it also has more adult-oriented music on it – Cantate Dominum, Riu Riu Chiu,  and Leise Rieselt der Schnee are some of the best ones. He performs with a Ukrainian men’s chorus, a great a capella quartet and the Winnipeg Mennonite Children’s choir. This is the CD we put on when we’re decorating the tree – so I’m devastated that mine’s damaged. SO, if in your thrift-shopping travels you come across this and it looks like it’s in good shape, BUY IT FOR ME! (i promise i’ll pay you back!)

What’s your favourite Christmas CD?

This entry was posted in music, Records and CDs and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 12 Days of Thrift-hearted Christmas: Day 8 – Christmas music

  1. Laura says:

    I’d actually forgotten about Fred Penner’s Christmas–we have it on cassette, so that’s kind of obsolete! Chances of it showing up in Winnipeg are pretty good, so I’ll keep an eye open for you! My favourite Christmas CD’s are be Bruce Cockburn’s Christmas and of course the Charlie Brown Christmas by the Vince Guaraldi Trio.

  2. Doris says:

    Merry Axemas – A Guitar Christmas. It’s been a Christmas favourite at our place for years! It features guitarists like Jeff Beck, Alex Lifeson, Ritchie Sambora, Steve Vai, Joe Satriani, Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Eric Johnson… Eric and I were actually thinking of you the other day as we listened to it. We’ll burn it for you – it’s absolutely fantastic!

  3. Megan says:

    Amy Grant Christmas albums 🙂

    • angelika says:

      yup. got them all! she really does know how to do christmas. i love her version of ‘o come all ye faithful’ – so quiet and reserved; it’s just beautiful.

Comments are closed.