Thrifting in the Nation’s Capital

The Parliament Buildings in Ottawa - all dressed up for Christmas

Happy New Year, everyone! I had the privilege of spending Christmas in Ottawa, Canada’s capital city, and home to my husband’s family. We had a wonderful time visiting with family, going for walks in the snow and, of course, thrift shopping.

The girls (my two sisters-in-law, my niece, her daughter and her daughter’s friend) spent an afternoon hitting 3 shops: the Goodwill (which we don’t have in BC), the Salvation Army, and the Value Village.  Found some deals in each place.

The Goodwill was large, bright and well organized.  Their pricing was standardized (which I like) meaning all sweaters were the same price, all t-shirts the same price, etc. – unless specifically tagged.

I found a Northern Reflections waffle hoodie ($5)

an Eddie Bauer sweater ($5)

and an unopened copy of “Men with Brooms” – possibly one of the best Canadian comedies I’ve ever seen.

I found a great ESPE hand bag for my niece, Cathy. These polyurethane bags (toxin-free and no animals harmed!) are made in Canada and usually run at $60 or more; Cathy got this one for $5.

She also found some great things for her kids – Mia found this complete outfit for $12 and Austin got a nearly-new Burton ski suit for $14.99.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Right next door was the Salvation Army.  We loved the way this shop was laid out: very boutique-like, with lovely displays and pot-lighting. Clothing was individually priced – a little higher than what you find in a Sally Ann in BC – but very good quality stuff. I tried a lot of things on but only came away with two sweaters – another Eddie Bauer sweater for me and another cotton sweater for John. They also did some cool, in-store advertising!

isn't this a great idea?

the same, no matter where you go - well, okay, no snow in the parking lot in Abbotsford...

Down the road, we visited the familiar Value Village. We were a little shopped out by this time so didn’t spend a long time here but I did find a couple of CDs for Aaron and a Brazil soccer shirt for my sister.

Tragically Hip (maybe the best band name, ever) and Reliant K

My sister-in-law Kim found this fantastic, full-length suede coat with pile lining, only $40; perfect for the -22C weather we were having that day!

isn't this a great coat?

All in all, it was a good day shopping and we all found something we were looking for. Mostly, it was a great afternoon for me to spend with family, which I don’t get to do very often since we live so far apart. It’s always more fun to go thrift shopping with others, don’t you think?

I’m linking up with Apron Thrift Girl and ThriftCore – check out their finds over the holidays. Did you do any thrift shopping over the holidays?

This entry was posted in clothing, handbags, movies, music, Thrift Shopping and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thrifting in the Nation’s Capital

  1. SixBalloons says:

    I am so glad that you are able to incorporate thrifting while travelling… It’s a great way of sightseeing and making memories, I think!

    • angelika says:

      you’re absolutely right. it’s a different way of seeing a place, both in terms of similarities and differences. and isn’t it fun to say “i got this cool sweater in ottawa and it only cost me $5!”

  2. Tammy says:

    Great finds. I love getting Eddie Bauer for $5, my Apron Thrift Girl post I found one as well. I love Goodwill. I currently live in Edmonton but am moving to Comox this Spring and am sad no Goodwills there. Plenty of great thrift stores there though. Great blog!

  3. Van says:

    Great finds and photos. I too love the idea of the advertising on the t-shirts! We don’t have value villages down here in Florida, I’ll have to check some out on my travels one day…

    • angelika says:

      I”m pretty sure that in the States they’re called Savers – do you have that in Florida? Maybe it’s just a west coast thing. It was started by a guy in Seattle.

  4. Pingback: Richmond Thrifting Part Two | thrift shopper for peace

Comments are closed.