Adventures in Burnaby Thrifting – Part 1

I had the opportunity to do a little thrift road trip today after dropping my son off at his home in Burnaby. I plotted a route along Kingsway, with a little detour onto Edmonds and scored some great stuff. I’ll share two shops with you today.

 

Burnaby Hospital Auxiliary Thrift Shop – 3185 Kingsway

This one is actually in Vancouver, just west of Joyce Street. It supports the Burnaby Hospital raising funds to enhance patient comfort and support hospital staff – a worthy cause to support with my pennies!

This shop is what I call a classic thrift shop: very small, very crowded, volunteer run. This can be good or bad; in this case, mostly good.  The little shop is nicely organized and carries mostly clothing and shoes, accessories, a few books, toys, housewares and pictures. No furniture or sports equipment or the like, simply because they have no space. The shop is clean and its greatest asset is its volunteers: very friendly, cheerful and obviously know their regular customers well.

I picked up a great Nautica table runner that is now gracing the dresser in my bedroom.

Also picked up a Le Chateau white tank and a fun England soccer-themed t-shirt that will go to my cousin’s daughter, Emma.  Everything came to $7.

My only complaint with this shop is that they staple their tags onto their clothes – ugh! I hate it when shops do that because you run the risk of damaging your purchase when you try and remove the staple.  Still, a cute little shop and worth a visit.

Burnaby Hospice Society Thrift Shop – 6843 Kingsway

A few kilometres east is this great thrift shop that supports the Burnaby Hospice Society which provides hospice and palliative care, bereavement support and does community education. Their thrift shop is large, bright, and very well organized. They’ve got a great book section, lots of housewares, luggage, CDs and DVDs, and a big clothing and shoe section. Again, I noticed the volunteers were helpful and seemed to enjoy their work with customers. I noted one volunteer interacting with a gentleman who did not speak English very well; she was kind and patient with him. That speaks volumes to me.

My Whitecaps fanatic son will be thrilled when he sees this vintage soccer jersey. Just in time to celebrate their season opener victory: 2-0 against Montreal.

Also picked up a Guiness t-shirt for my hubby, just in time for St. Patrick’s day. Love the sleeve detail. I also picked up this cute, polka-dot summer skirt with this interesting detail. All clothes were 50% off, so the whole thing came to a whopping $6.50. Gotta love that.

These were great thrift shops but still not the best one I hit on my journey today. You’ll have to wait for that gem for next week’s post.

What did you find on your thrift travels this weekend?

If you want to be inspired by others’ finds, check out Apron Thrift Girl’s Thrift Share Monday post – it’s one of my favourite Monday morning activities!

This entry was posted in clothing, Thrift Shopping, Volunteering and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Adventures in Burnaby Thrifting – Part 1

  1. Sonja says:

    What fantastic finds! I love that polka dot skirt. You’re gonna look so cute wearing that while thrift shopping this summer :-). We didn’t get any thrifting in this weekend, but we’ll totally make up for it this week. We’re heading to kelowna to help with wedding plans and Emma has made me promise that we’ll hit the shops there. She finds that kelowna has some amazing thrift shops. We’ve even added them as highlights on Andrea & Jeremy’s wedding map (you know…for those special guests ;-).

  2. Chris says:

    Whoa! Brilliant findings! You could totally have your own reality show.

  3. Selen says:

    great finds! Loved the England shirt.

  4. Great finds! I had a crappy thrifting week – Sally Ann seems to have raised their prices to double what they were a few months ago. Looks like Goodwill is my only haunt these days. I can’t wait for Spring yard sale season.

  5. Joy P says:

    Good finds. And local too. (I’m in the Fraser Valley).

  6. SixBalloons says:

    I love that Bby Hospice Thrift – you’re right, the volunteers are always so helpful and kind.

  7. I love, love, love that skirt!

  8. wow! that polka dotted skirt is the cats meow! so cool! I love that there are so many thrift shops that benefit great causes!…I love knowing my money is going to help people.

  9. stephanie says:

    I love that polka dot skirt! And I just had a bad experience with staples and a shirt last week. WHY do they do that??? 🙂

  10. Pingback: Thrifting Blog Digest-#27 | Late Night Coffee

Comments are closed.