A Little Retail Therapy in Langley

Every once in a while, you just feel like crap and you need to do something totally for yourself. When that happens to me, I call my sister and prescribe some retail therapy, second-hand retail therapy that is. Benita and I did that yesterday in Langley and it turned out to be just what the doctor ordered.

Penny Pinchers – 20211 – 56 Ave, Langley BC

And how appropriate that the therapy happened in a thrift shop that supports the Langley Hospital Auxiliary, whose purpose it is to support the Langley Memorial Hospital. Penny Pinchers is completely volunteer run (as is every endeavour of the auxiliary) and it is a gem.

The shop is big, bright, clean and well organized. Prices are standardized (i.e. all jeans $6) unless otherwise marked and are very reasonably priced. There’s a big variety of stock – not just clothes but household goods, a little bit of furniture, shoes, games, jewelry, collectibles, you name it.

The fitting rooms are big and reminded us of a beach cottage with their wood panelling, lots of hooks and nice little built-in bench to sit on or rest items on. The three-way mirror just outside is an added bonus. The volunteers are chatty and cheerful,  just like we like ‘em.  Both my sister and I found some gems.

one of two jerseys i found at Penny Pinchers.

As my faithful followers will know, my son is a Whitecaps fanatic and he has put me on a mission to find him any and all paraphernalia. I scored big on this trip with two goalie jerseys. He’ll get these for his birthday – hopefully he doesn’t read my blog…

genuine all stars - limousines for your feet.

I’ve always wanted a pair of genuine Converse All-Stars and these checkered ones, albeit a little dirty, fit like a glove. Aren’t they cute?

i plan to burn votives either in glass containers or on glass sleeves set on this sconce to avoid the wax drip issue. unless you have a better idea for me?

 

I’ve been looking for replacement wall sconces for candles ever since my current ones decided to become abundantly drippy.  (Anyone know how to get wax off of baseboards?) I found these, unused ones, for 50 cents each. I know, right?

look at him eyeing you. cheeky fellow.

In keeping with a candle theme, this cheeky birdie had to come home with me as did the Dickensian candle holder made by someone named Louise. I think she did a lovely job.

I also found a lovely, like new sweater for my hubby that I forgot to photograph. I’ll include that next week, when I blog about the other little gem we found in Langley.

If you live in Langley, do you have another thrift shop you’d recommend?

This entry was posted in clothing, Thrift Shopping, whitecaps stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Little Retail Therapy in Langley

  1. sonja everson says:

    Wow, you are a super-hound when it comes to soccer stuff! I’ve forever looking and never seem to find anything! I love the little cheeky birdie votive holder. As for the wax on your baseboards…have you tried firing up the blowdryer on high-heat and re-softening the wax and then wiping it off with a Magic Eraser sponge?

    • Sonja, that stuff just seems to fall in my lap. pretty cool, though, eh? i haven’t tried the blow dryer trick but am so going to do that. i tried a dry iron, which worked great on the floor but it’s a little tough to angle it properly on the wall. the blow dryer will probably be just right.

  2. The great thing about the shoes being a little marked up already is that you won’t be mad when you add to it!

  3. Benita says:

    Magic sponges will clean up the shoes. And for your info, I found the sconces 😉

  4. joyjournals says:

    Although I don’t live in Langley, I recently visited my sister who does. She volunteers in a little thrift shop in Langley named Fibromyalgia Well Spring Thrift Store.
    It’s located at:
    #109-20631 Fraser Hwy Langley City, BC
    Store Hours:
    Monday through Friday, 10 a.m to 4 p.m.
    Saturday, 10 a.m to 3 p.m.
    Hope you get to check it out sometime and if you’re in the store on Wednesday afternoon, say hi to Madeline 🙂

    • fantastic! i love tips like that – and what a great cause to support. i have a few friends who live with fibromyalgia and i know how challenging that can be. i’ll definitely be visiting here!

  5. Fabulous post! I love thrift shopping too. Cheers!

  6. Pingback: A Taste of Hollywood in Langley | thrift shopper for peace

  7. fo2a says:

    Magic sponges will clean up the shoes

  8. Dawn says:

    Yes, the Mr. Clean Magic Erasers work like a dream, even take sharpie off of thrifted shoe bottoms : )

Comments are closed.