Thrifting in the Downtown East Side

Last week I told you I’d share about a new Vancouver thrift shop that I just happened upon when I was actually looking for this:

Steamworks Pub brewed this copper roof ale in honour of the Vancouver Sun’s 100th anniversary. It’s name is a nod to the Sun’s original, copper-roofed building. It is a bitter, it is excellent, and there’s limited quantity so if you want some, go now.

Community Thrift and Vintage Frock Shoppe 311 Carrall Street

Don’t you love that name – “Frock Shoppe”? That’s what drew me in. This lovely little shop is small but clean and well stocked with amazing vintage frocks as well as other gently used items – all women’s. The shop is a social enterprise of the Portland Housing Society(PHS) which is well known in the DTES for its good work in the community.

They actually have two shops – the Frock Shoppe is geared towards women only, their other shop – on 41 W. Cordova  and which I have yet to visit – caters to everyone. Read the “about us” page on Community Thrift blog, they have one of the best purpose statements I’ve ever read.  Their shops give women with barriers employment skills and the proceeds from the shops support this work.

I loved trawling through the racks of vintage dresses –stuff right out of Leave it to Beaver or Breakfast at Tiffanies. This would be a GREAT place to get prom dresses or a lovely frock to wear to a spring wedding. The vintage items are priced a little higher ($40 or $50 for a dress) but you really are buying one-of-a-kind when you buy vintage. Their other items were reasonably priced.

I tried a few things on but it wasn’t my lucky day. I did leave with this beautiful TieRack scarf, which makes me feel as though I’m wearing a watercolour painting.

I’m looking forward to visiting their other shop next time I’m downtown. What did you find as you thrifted this weekend?

This entry was posted in scarves, social enterprise, Thrift Shopping, vintage and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Thrifting in the Downtown East Side

  1. Lady Demelza says:

    Oh, well, heaps of amazing things, as usual. But I did get around to photographing my collection of thrifted stationery.
    http://www.themaroondiaries.blogspot.com/2012/05/of-treasure-found-op-shopping-for.html

  2. sonja everson says:

    Oooh, that looks like a yummy glass of ale. I’m sure it would beat the socks off the warm draft I was given at the game today….bluh! Moving along…I had no idea those shops existed downtown. I’m totally searching for a couple of dresses for a couple of upcoming weddings and will definitely make my way down there for something original and much cheaper than what I’ve been seeing at the stores lately. Does anyone really pay $395 for less than a meter’s worth of polyester material (so called dress)? Apparently so, or those shops at Oakridge wouldn’t have lasted this long. What a serious waste of moulah! Although it was worth seeing my mother’s reactions when i took her there. LOL! WAY TOO FUNNY!

    • i feel similarly about bathing suit shopping. why is it that the less material there is, the more it costs? i wish i could have been a fly on the wall with your mom in oakridge. my mom would have said “na! die sind ya beklopt!” LOL!

  3. Jess @UsedYorkCity says:

    I love that scarf! What a perfect piece for spring and summer! I got lucky finding a jacket on my last thrifting adventure…it was a great price because of winter clearance, although I probably won’t get too much use out of it until fall. No complaints there! 🙂

Comments are closed.