A few of my favourite things #4: Lulastic and the Hippyshake

Okay, you have to love this blog just for its name, don’ t you?  But more than that, this is a fabulous blog for anyone who loves thrift, crafting, parenting and living simply and intentionally.

This blog comes from Britain and Lulastic (I’m pretty sure that’s not her real name. J ) writes with humour and honesty about being what I’d call a “granola”. I promise you, you will laugh out loud as you read some of her escapades.

She’s exploring alternatives to shampoo. She has raised a “nappy-free” daughter (that’s an interesting post to read, you’ll find the link in the ‘about’ section). She dumpster-dives and has found some fabulous things doing so (search her “anti-swank” blog post for a hilarious story about taking a couch home on the bus.) She has started blogging about thrift-routes in England, so if you’re there or going to go there, you’ve got a ready-made thrift plan available to you.Her post titled The Politics of Thrift is intelligent, well written and thought-provoking.

So that’s what I’m sharing with you today – I encourage you to follow this informative and uplifting blog.

And now I’d like some input from you. Next Wednesday, in my role as Communications Writer for Mennonite Central Committee BC, I have been asked to make a presentation to MCC’s Thrift Shop managers. I will have them captive in a room – what would you like me to tell them? What would you like me to ask them? What encouragement would you give?

This entry was posted in family, recycling, repurposing, simple living, thrift websites and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A few of my favourite things #4: Lulastic and the Hippyshake

  1. I would love for you to tell them if an item is donated to keep prices down. Even for charity, price gouging on a used item keeps me at the yard sales instead of thrift shops.

    • gk says:

      Jeannie, I can tell you as a thrift shop manager that we would LOVE to keep our prices as low as possible, but the difference between a yard sale and a store is that we have overhead (lease, staff, heating, store fixtures, etc) whereas a yard sale has very little (or no) overhead costs at all.

  2. Thanks for the great advice, looking forward to checking out an awesome new blog!;-) And CONGRATS on the presentation! I’m a huge advocate for “thrifting for cause”, and knowing I can support an amazing charity while at the same time getting some fun recycled clothes is fabulous! Cheers to the good work!

  3. beverly says:

    thanks for a heads up to this blog… i am constantly looking for thrifting blogs in the UK 🙂

Comments are closed.