If Thrifting had a virtue…

…it would be Patience. As you know, thrift shopping is not like retail shopping. In retail shopping you go and get what you’re looking for. In thrift shopping you go and look for what’s there, see what you’ll find. But every once in a while, you really are looking for something and that’s where Patience comes in: you must be patient while you wait for that something to show up because it almost always does.

My most recent exercise in Patience involved the solution to this problem:

This is the corner on my beloved’s side of the bed. That is it was until yesterday. I have been looking for months and months for the solution to this problem, spurred on by the fact that this fall I want to get my carpets cleaned and I couldn’t imagine what a carpet cleaner would do with a corner like this.

My beloved is a man after my own heart in so many ways. I counted – no lie – 64 books in this corner. (There are books in nearly every corner of our home. Some might call it a problem.) There were also notes from me and other friends. Golf magazines. Journals. Church bulletins. Little gifts from fellow actors (my hubby is an actor and often appears on the stage at Gallery 7 Theatre.) and DUST BUNNIES THE SIZE OF LIONS. Oh. My. Gosh. Clearly he’s been working on this corner for years.

Then, yesterday I walked into the MCC Furniture and More Shop in Abbotsford and found this lovely piece. Just $22.

There is way more surface space on top, inside the doors are slats so I organized his journals, scripts, magazine, and keepsakes and then stacked the books-to-be-read on top. The silver cigar box currently houses pens, pencils, highlighter and eraser – tools for script memorization and New York Times Crosswords. I shelved half the books – there’s probably 30+ more that he’ll have to sort through when he has time.

Totally worth the wait, right? Do you have  thrifting patience story?

This entry was posted in antiques, furniture, patience, used furniture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to If Thrifting had a virtue…

  1. garethbrandt says:

    I need to see a picture after about 6 months to see if it’s still this neat! 🙂
    Cyndy

  2. Denise says:

    LOL…want to find one for me….my side of the bed looks the same!! (and for the record, books are NEVER a problem, they just want a loving home like everything else)

  3. amazing end table!! what a great find!

  4. Sixballoons says:

    Great piece and worth the wait!

  5. sonja everson says:

    I’m so tempted to go into our bedroom and count the books on my side of the bed. I wonder how close I’d get to 64 😉

  6. AmanDan says:

    Best thrifting patience story??? Finding my wedding dress! A mere $35, plus I used a $5 off coupon that they used to have at Value Village! Took me months, but I found that perfect dress that fit like a glove.

  7. Claire C says:

    I know where you’re coming from with the books… Sometimes I think that they are off having little book babies in the corner when I’m not looking! They just seem to multiply on their own – well done on keeping them in check 🙂 Lovely piece!

  8. Melanie M. says:

    The before pic looks like what is going on by my side of the bed right now…. lol

    Great find! I have had thrifting patience pay off many times. Sometimes things that I didn’t even know I needed until I found them! 😀

  9. Thrift Bee says:

    Hi, thanks for visiting Thrift Bee, thought i’d have a peep over at what you do.
    Thrift patience – oh I’m a believer!
    Posted recently about a pasta machine, I have wanted one for ages and I got a really nice Italian one for €1.
    I’m loving your tag ‘ reuse rethink refresh repeat. ‘

  10. Jill says:

    Your patience paid off – what a difference – it’s great!!

Comments are closed.