Do you believe in Thrift Faeries?

I do. Every once in a while, I feel like the thrift faeries can foresee the future and they stay my hand at one point in order to guide me to another, better deal. This happened to me today.

A few months ago, even though we were living through the driest August and September in 100 years, I was thinking about rain jackets. I used to own an Mountain Equipment Co-op (MEC) gortex jacket that I loved and wore to death. I loved it. A couple of years ago, I got sucked into buying a Columbia rain jacket at an outlet mall outside of Seattle. I hate it and have been pining for an MEC gortex jacket ever since.

Then one day, I noticed on Facebook that MEC was having a clearance sale that included gortex jackets. I browsed through their sale stuff and found one that I really liked and it was 50% off- only $80! I was so excited because they hardly ever go on sale. So I decided I was going to get one but I could not, for the life of me, get the website to work and by the time I figured it out, the jackets were sold out. Sigh.

But you see today, I realized that it was the thrift faeries that were preventing me from buying that jacket because they knew that today I was going to go to Bibles for Missions in Abbotsford and find an MEC, gortex rain jacket, in mint condition, in my size. For only $4. I know, right?!

The photo doesn’t quite do it justice because I hadn’t washed it yet. It’s a lovely plum colour, deep hood, double pockets in front, inside pocket as well. Oh my. I am SO EXCITED. Thank you thrift faeries!

I also found a great, lined, black skirt.

A long-sleeved, Vancouver Olympics t-shirt for my sweetheart.

And a Christmas tie – my son has a tradition of getting his dad a Christmas tie each year. As you can see, this one was only 50cents, which should work with his poor-student-budget.

Next week I’ll show you what I got at a different thrift shop, but in the meantime, tell me…do you believe in faeries?

I’m connecting with other Thrift Lovers today through Thrift Share Monday  at Apron Thrift Girl – check it out!

This entry was posted in christmas, faeries, MEC, patience, thrift, Thrift Shopping, vancouver olympics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Do you believe in Thrift Faeries?

  1. I LOVE it when a vintage purchase falls into my lap – nice find!

  2. inkomplete says:

    I call it luck, my friends call my finds some kind of witchcraft 😉 but I too seem to find the right thing at the right time… even if I didn’t know what I was looking for 😉

  3. Geoff says:

    I’ve honestly lost count of the number of times that I’ve thought, “Man, I haven’t heard [insert CD name here] in forever!” and then BAM the next day it gets donated to my shop. The same has happened with so many books as well. And just this week a chest of drawers came in that matches exactly to the set we just bought off Craigslist for the boys (missing one chest, mind you!). And don’t even get me started on “the pants” LOL

    • ah, the pants. i am actually not surprised by your response because unlike most of us who have to take time to go to a thrift shop, you work in one, so you’re surrounded by thrift faeries all day!

  4. lally Young says:

    I love going into a thrift store and and finding something I have been looking for ages! I wanted a cord skirt and I found two in one day!!! So yupp I love waiting it out

  5. I had a fairy this week. I was going to go to a kind of thrift store but I was one hour to early, so I went for a near Goodwill-like-store and got a kobenstyle pot. I was very happy!

  6. Cheapchick says:

    Excellent find! I found the exact shoes I was looking for this week at a thrift store on Vancouver Island. I love shopping thrift stores for clothing.

  7. Fantastic!!! I totally believe in thrift fairies. They allowed me to find a pair of vintage Sorel boots last month – the ones that were made in Canada from back in the day. In my size. In the men’s section of the store. Nice score on the coat! I can’t even buy a backpack in MEC for $4. Maybe a compass. Possibly a paper cup?

    • i know, MEC stuff is expensive – but it’s such good quality. i wore my last MEC gortex jacket for 20 years. not a word of a lie. it basically rotted off my body. so i know i’ll get a ton of wear out of this one.

  8. lulastic says:

    Yes! I have such similar stories, saying “all we need now is a little hand grinder for our coffee…” And finding one in the next shop! Totally unbelievable! Great post x

  9. Congrats! It’s the BEST feeling to find something you’ve been pining for in a thrift store.

  10. Van says:

    I need more thrift faeries around these parts. I have a lot of to-find items on my thrift list! Like some practical, mod furniture…

  11. laura says:

    of course we believe in faeries! and gnomes, dwarves, santa and leprechauns too!! love the jacket!

Comments are closed.