A Costly Christmas Wish

Being a thrift-hearted person does not mean I like cheap things, it means I like things of value, I just don’t want to pay a lot of money for them. But sometimes it’s worth it to pay a little more – or a lot more –  in order to get something that is good quality, that will last a lifetime.

tin can angel

Given what the world has witnessed in the last few weeks alone – kindergarteners shot in Connecticut, hundreds killed in by bombs in Syria, unrest that threatens more violence in Egypt – there is an overwhelming need for peace. But peace costs and I think the reason we see so little of it is because it costs each one of us, personally. If anything is going to change anywhere in this world, it has to start right here, with me.

This is not something I want to skimp on, I want to be generous with it. It will cost me my pride, my selfishness, my ego. It will cost me my time and it will mean I have to pay attention like never before. It might cost me money but it will be an investment worth making. I want to be an extravagant peace-bringer.

I don’t know why it feels so much more urgent at this time of year but it does. Maybe it’s because the birth we celebrate at this time of year is of the One they called the Prince of Peace, the One who said: Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid. If this is what I’ve been given, then I think this is also what I must share – a little light in the darkness.

This prayer was spoken in our church yesterday and I share it with you as encouragement and blessing. Happy Christmas.

The story tells us

That it’s those who wait in the world’s shadows

Who are the first to know of the Christ-child,

Born into darkness

Bringing great light.

So… today

…be carriers of the rumour of peace

And the truth of love

Into a world longing for light.

Pray for the justice another is waiting for,

And speak of the hope another needs to breathe.

And may the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ

The love of God

And the fellowship of the Holy Spirit

Be with us all.

Amen.

-written by Cheryl Lawrie (http://holdthisspace.org.au/)

This entry was posted in christmas, peace, thrift and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Costly Christmas Wish

  1. Megan says:

    I am always inspired by Christmas to look in the darkness, the hidden secret places, to find the light. Thanks Angelika 🙂

    omg! I’m on your blogroll?! Thanks so much!!!

Comments are closed.