New Year’s Thrifty Resolutions

here's me walking the lighthouse trail in tofino, wearing my $4 MEC gortex jacket - the best purchase i made last year

here’s me walking the lighthouse trail in tofino, wearing my $4 MEC gortex jacket – the best purchase i made last year

The best New Year’s resolution that I ever made – and the only one I’ve kept – was to volunteer at a local thrift shop. I’ve been going almost weekly to the MCC Abby East Thrift Shop in Abbotsford for… gosh, it must be 5 years already! I love it. My job is to organize the toy section and since my son is now 20 years old, it’s a safe place for me to volunteer (although I have brought one or two stuffies home with me. I have a weakness for Eyeore.) I’m not there for very long, usually an hour or two a week, but if I have more time I stay longer, putting away clothes from the fitting rooms, straightening out racks, organizing shelves. And hunting, of course.

olympic stuffies are another weakness. sigh.

olympic stuffies are another weakness. sigh.

People assume that volunteers scoop up the best stuff at thrift shops but there are actually some strict rules around that. We are not supposed to “shop from the back” but on the occasions that we do, we don’t get our regular 25% volunteer discount. The discount is one of the many perks of being a volunteer. The others include: helping an organization you believe in, meeting new people and making new friends, knowing that you’re part of keeping stuff out of the landfills. If you haven’t made a New Year’s Resolution yet, I highly recommend volunteering – anywhere – it’s a resolution that’s easy to keep because it makes you feel great.

My first thrift-related resolution for this year is to limit my thrift spending to $20 a month. I actually have no idea how much I spend at thrift shops on a monthly basis so this could be generous or it could make me crazy, we’ll have to wait and see! The reason for this is because I want to be more conscious of myself as a consumer. Just because I get a deal on something, doesn’t necessarily mean that I need it or that I should buy it. It’s still consuming. I also like the challenge of having a limit.

So I’m going to keep an envelope in my wallet with a brand new $20 in it and that will be my thrift only money. If I don’t spend all of it, I’ll carry it over to the next month. Where this will break down, of course, will be when I find those fabled Fluvogs I’m looking for and they’ll be more than $20. If that happens, I’m buying them anyway. Just sayin’.

i would be so excited if i found these, in my size, in a thrift shop. sigh.

i would be so excited if i found these, in my size, in a thrift shop. sigh.

My second thrift-related resolution is that for each purchase I make, I will have to get rid of something. This could get tricky too but it goes back to the same consumer issue. I don’t know if it’s an aging thing or what but I’ve been looking around my house a lot this year and thought what would I do with all this stuff if I had to downsize? My Christmas stuff alone would take up an entire storage locker (did I say that out loud?)

So there you go – my thrifty resolutions and you have to keep me accountable!

Did you make any New Year’s Resolutions this year?

This entry was posted in consumerism, environment, New Years REsolutions, Volunteering and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to New Year’s Thrifty Resolutions

  1. SixBalloons says:

    Oh tough one, giving up an item when you buy… But makes perfect sense.

  2. Sergio says:

    Nice article, I would like to know if I could publish it on my thrift shopping site, or you could possibly register as an author and post it? The site is thriftexplorer.com
    Good luck with the fluvogs.
    Sergio

  3. Liane says:

    Well, Angelika, I will make sure to put those shoes aside if I should find them while doing the shoes 🙂 I am doing the no spend month this January – I can only buy the essentials and nothing else. So far nothing has tempted me, ha! I use the “new one in an old one out” and it keeps things in control. This year I have come to realize that I do not need as much as I think I do. Keep us posted on the $20 envelope project. Happy New Year!!!! 🙂
    Liane 🙂

  4. stephanie says:

    Love your goals! It will be fun to hear how it works out for you. 🙂

  5. That’s a very good resolution! I really am a fan of the bringing something new into the house/getting rid of an old item. If not clutter takes over to a point where you realize you have like mountains of the same item or just way too much stuff.

  6. ThriftDee says:

    I have to curb my thrift hoarding tendencies too. Here’s what I do: If I find something really great and sell it on Ebay, then that money is for more thrifting! (doesn’t help with the hoarding but it makes me feel better!)

    • that’s such a great idea. i keep meaning to explore the whole world of reselling but just haven’t found the time to do it. i follow other bloggers who actually make their living this way. it just seems incredible to me!

Comments are closed.