An MCC Thrift Shop Mall? Yes, please.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So I don’t know what else Souderton, PA is famous for but in Mennonite circles it’s famous for the MCC Care and Share Thrift Shoppes. This is a serious thrift operation.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There’s a thrift furniture shop…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A thrift book store…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A thrift clothing shop…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A thrift variety shop (household goods, toys, etc.)…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And if none of that if thrifty enough for you, there’s a thrift discount shop – all conveniently located in one strip mall. If you can’t find what you’re looking for there, you can shop online on at their ebay store. The shoppes are open late on Thursday and Friday – until 8 pm.

If I lived in Souderton, I’d totally buy all my furniture here because they have a fabulous selection of antiques.

the key to rebecca fig eater

I was most impressed by the book shoppe. It is really well organized and the selection was great – their magazine selection was awesome. Every Wednesday at 10:30 am they have story time with children, which I thought was a terrific idea. The kids come in for a story (parents have to stay) and that’s followed up with a craft. What a great way to get parents in to shop!

The clothing and variety shoppes were also very well organized and their displays were well done. Pricing on their clothing was a little higher than what I’m used to at a typical MCC Thrift Shop; all their clothing was priced at the same level as our boutique clothing would be priced at in Abbotsford. My only complaint about the clothing store was the music. They had some horrible choir singing Christmas music (every song had what I call a Disney ending: gets bigger and bigger and louder and then: ta da!!!! Egads.) it nearly chased me out of the shop. What kept me there was a volunteer named Matt who was the friendliest, most helpful and enthusiastic volunteer I’ve ever seen. He helped find a price for me on an item without a tag and while he was getting that, he reminded me that green and pink tags were 50% off and also reminded me that even when he found out what the price was for the item, there was no obligation to buy. It was awesome.

The Thrift Outlet is where they put stuff after it’s sat on shelves in the other stores for too long. It’s got a bit more of a garage-sale feel to it with clothes dumped into big bins, poorer lighting and a generally less neat and tidy feel to it. I think you’d get great deals here but you’d have to be willing to dig.

yoga mags

Because I was flying and did not want to check bags (at $25 a bag, no thank you), I limited my purchases. I bought a couple of books and magazines for the flight home and I lucked out, getting them all at 50% off.

They have a really great website, which does a good job of telling you about their shoppes, where your money goes, and how you can be involved. One of the obvious thoughts I had was: imagine the number of volunteers you’d need to make an operation like this so successful! Like most MCC Thrift Shops (not all) they do have some paid staff but most of the work is done by volunteers. Not only do you have five shops to manage, you also have more shifts since they’re open late twice a week. That part was pretty impressive.

So what do you think? Would you like a thrift mall like this in your neighbourhood?

This entry was posted in books, second hand, thrift, Thrift Shopping, travel, used furniture and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An MCC Thrift Shop Mall? Yes, please.

  1. SixBalloons says:

    Ooh i want to go there. I like that there is a cheaper digger spot as well as the less grungy areas.

  2. lally Young says:

    I would die!!! To have one like this in the UK, I would think I was in heaven!!!! Ours tend to be medium sized! But nothing like this!!!

Comments are closed.