Simplifying Life

I love it when people come up with ideas to solve problems. In the past two weeks, I’ve had two websites come to my attention that do this perfectly.

This desk turns into a bed.  Watch the video here http://www.resourcefurniture.com/space-savers/twin-space-saving-beds/cabrio-in

This desk turns into a bed.

Resource Furniture

These folks take living small to a whole new level. They have created whole units of furniture that serve more than one purpose, designed for people who live in small spaces. I just love this concept so much. If you go here, you’ll see how the desk above turns into a bed.

Thing is, there are no prices listed anywhere on their website, so you know that this is going to be super expensive (and I have yet to find anything like this in a thrift shop!) Still, there’s something about being thrifty with your space that is totally appealing to me. What do you think?

right?

right?

50 Ways to Simplify your life

On the more affordable end of things, Twisted Sifter is a blog that seems to group things in 50s. This blog post has a ton of really cool ideas to save time , money and effort, solving problems that you didn’t even know you had. So many uses for bread tabs and toilet paper rolls! Does the chewing gum/onion trick really work? And that ninja fold thing… I’m totally going to have to figure that out. That, and the brownie in a mug thing.

What’s your tip for keeping life simple?

This entry was posted in furniture, problem solving, simple living, thrift and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Simplifying Life

  1. I really love this post, that desk is amazing. They should put them in dorm rooms! Check out my thrifting blog if you get a chance! cutratethriftonista.wordpress.com

  2. Melanie says:

    To keep life simple it helps not to talk too much – joking, but also serious. In terms of things, good shelving is always key to a happy home life.

  3. Love new resources! And ditto on the fantastic desk. I’m drooling!

  4. Van says:

    I’ve been trying to write more content like this. LOVE the ideas in this post. Will do the bread tab one because losing my spot while packing things to ship out is maddening, happens even with a fancy tape dispenser.

    I’m inspired, may have to post on keeping things simple tomorrow. 1) I think my top 3 are: cleaning and putting stuff away AS SOON as I’m done with it, 2) keeping most of the stuff i’m selling in a completely separate space away form the rest of my home 3) purging as much as possible. Having a general schedule for every day and knowing what’s going on a month in advance is helpful too.

    • I so love the bread tab one too. I love your three things – I am also in a purging phase these days. I wonder if it’s an aging thing for me. I just look at all my stuff and think “if I ever have to move, do I really want to move all this stuff?” My latest thing is menu planning – that’s made a huge difference for me in terms of saving time and I think saving money too. just takes the stress out of that time of day. I think I will blog about that this week! look forward to reading your blog on simplifying!

      • Van says:

        Great minds think alike. That’s exactly what I think, “Do I really want to haul these heavy books down 24 steps when I enviably leave this apartment one day? NO.” It’s a big purging motivator. I just started meal planning, definitely saves time, money, space in the fridge, helps prevent food spoilage…working on the post now 🙂 Thanks for the great talking point on your blog, I think we’re all trying to simplify in one way or another.

Comments are closed.