The Littlest Thrift Shop

store front

Every once in a while you get that wonderful opportunity to witness a dream come true. I got to witness that today with the grand opening of The Littlest Thrift Shop, 305 Cedar Street in New Westminster, BC.

brooke in front of shopBrooke Young dreamed of opening a thrift shop for years and today that dream became reality. It really is possible that this is the littlest thrift shop in the world – it is teeny tiny but Brooke has made good use of the space she has with shelving and limiting the amount of product she has on the floor at one time.

store interior

She is picky about her donations – clothing needs to be laundered and free of rips and tears and she’ll take furniture in good condition. She doesn’t accept mattresses (not many thrift shops do these days because of bed-bug issues.) Her prices are decent – tops hover around the $5 mark, jewelry between 50cents – $1.

store interior looking towards front

I picked up a few little items:

owl toque

This fun toque will go to my owl-loving niece.

earrings

I fell in love with these earrings – I’m pretty sure the two silver ones are actually silver (I’ll know if they start to tarnish when I wear them!)

aussie iron on patch

brazil pin

My Australia-obsessed son gets the iron-on patch. He’s also got the Brazil button for his guitar strap.

candle - pillar tall

And you can’t have too many candles, in my opinion! All this came to $7.40.

The Littlest Thrift Shop is a business, not a charity shop, and I’m going to do a fuller interview with her later this week about that and about how her experience with MCC’s Kaleidoscope program informed her experience of opening the shop. I’ll update this blog when that article is online.

Until then, she’s open today – Canada Day – until 6 pm and everything is 25% off. She’s got hot-dogs and gift-basket raffles, all of which support the Elizabeth Fry Society, which supports criminalized and marginalized women. Go support a young woman’s dream-come-true!

This entry was posted in second hand, thrift, thrift lifetstyle, Thrift Shopping, thrift shops, used furniture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Littlest Thrift Shop

  1. That owl hat is so adorable! I hope your niece loves it 🙂

  2. Dawn says:

    How exciting for her to realize her dream : ) Such a cute store. I really like the blue stone earrings, so pretty!

Comments are closed.