Thrift to the Rescue

Oliver BC, where my family has gone for decades. This will be the first summer in a long time that we will NOT visit it. kinda sad...

Oliver BC, where my family has gone for decades. This will be the first summer in a long time that we will NOT visit it. kinda sad…

I’ve blogged about travel and thrift a few times, including this time when a friend blogged about how thrift shops provided her baby with clothes when the family went on holidays and forgot the baby’s clothing at home.

I had something a little similar happen to me back in May when I traveled back east for a wedding in Winnipeg and then on to Ottawa for a family vacation. I had not anticipated how very warm it would be in Ottawa and hadn’t packed accordingly. I was facing  a week of sweat-laden discomfort (which, when you’re 49 is already a common enough occurence.)

Luckily, Ottawa has several excellent thrift shops and I got these two great items at the Goodwill.

northern reflection town short

These Northern Reflections shorts are really comfy and in like-new condition.

nepalise skirt

This funky skirt is made in Nepal, 100% cotton and super comfortable. The only thing I have to be careful with is washing; I hand-wash it because it seems to let nearly all its dye go when it hits water! But I love the feel of it when I wear it.

Has a thrift shop rescued you on your vacation?

This entry was posted in clothing, thrift, thrift lifetstyle, Thrift Shopping, thrift shops, travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thrift to the Rescue

  1. darciebrown says:

    If you’re ever in 70 Mile House, you have to check out SMAC (Seventy Mile Access Centre). Finding treasures there is one of the highlights of our vacations at Green Lake!

  2. Dawn says:

    Yes it has! I went for a trip with my boys and we wound up with a hotel that had a jacuzzi and we had no bathing suits. Went to the nearest thrift to grab some on the cheap so we could spend our money on our trip.

  3. RRR says:

    In May my husband and I went to Maui. We rented a Harley for one day, but I underestimated how hot it would be there and realized that I would cook if I went in the jacket that I had brought. So off to Savers (Value Village for us Canucks) to find a billowy long sleeve top! I also couldn’t believe the racks and racks of Hawaiian shirts there. No use buying one new!

    • i always try and visit thrift shops when we travel and look for souvenir shirts or mugs or whatever it is that might be interesting to collect from that place. sometimes it really pays off!

Comments are closed.