Campbell River Quickie

we had all kinds of weather on Vancouver Island - beautiful sunshine and thick fog. on the way home, we ferried right into it - it was pretty cool!

we had all kinds of weather on Vancouver Island – beautiful sunshine and thick fog. on the way home, we ferried right into it – it was pretty cool!

My new job took me to beautiful Vancouver Island recently where I had a chance to visit several of the places that Communitas Supportive Care Society serves and meet some of the extraordinary people who I can now call my colleagues. It was a wonderful experience.

I also had a quick chance to peek into a little Salvation Army shop, tucked in behind Willow’s Farm Market and Garden Centre. It’s a cozy little shop, clean and well-stocked. I tried on a few things but nothing really struck my fancy.

calendar girls movie

But I did come away with this copy of Calendar Girls, which I watched again this evening – what a fabulous movie. It’s based on a true story about a group of fifty-something women who pose nude for a fundraising calendar, hoping to raise enough money for a sofa in the Family Room of the local hospital (where the husband of one of the girls died of leukemia.) The project explodes and they raise enough for an entire new Leukemia unit – and the sofa. If you haven’t seen it I highly recommend it.

So, I have to ask: would you pose nude for a fundraising calendar?

This entry was posted in movies, thrift, thrift lifetstyle, Thrift Shopping, thrift shops and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.