A Thrifting First in Steveston

 

I didn't have my camera with me yesterday, but imagine folks lined up down the ramp and all along the block...

I didn’t have my camera with me yesterday, but imagine folks lined up down the ramp and all along the block…

I did something yesterday I’ve never done before: I stood in line to get into a thrift shop. The Richmond Auxiliary Thrift Shop in Steveston was having its annual Curio Sale and when I got there at 9:30 they were lined up down the block at each of 2 entrances. They put away all the clothes racks, covered the shoes, books, accessories and hauled out boxes and boxes of vintage jewelry, linens, antique furniture, china, silver, pottery, knick-knacks, you name it. The closed for half an hour at lunch to re-stock! It was crazy.

this cute little box snaps shut and has space for rings, earrings, and maybe one or two small necklaces

this cute little box snaps shut and has space for rings, earrings, and maybe one or two small necklaces

I was a little disappointed because it wasn’t really what I was looking for or interested in, but I did pick up this little leather travel jewel case for my mom for Christmas. Thankfully, Steveston has a couple of other thrift shops too.

this cool skirt looks like it's made up of tweed coats

this cool skirt looks like it’s made up of tweed coats

I re-visited the SOS Thrift Shop and picked up this great skirt. It’s a little big on me (which is a pleasant experience for a change) but I took into account that I can easily alter it when I lose weight. Notice, I said “when”. (sigh.)

StevestonGeneralStore

Then I visited the Steveston General Store, which I’d never been in before and which had an eclectic mix of new and used stuff.

what's your favourite Neil Young song?

what’s your favourite Neil Young song?

Just the other day my son was commenting that we don’t own any Neil Young music – a travesty for Canadian music fans – so I was pleased to find this CD in mint condition.

earings

I also picked up 3 pairs of fun earrings that may make it into Christmas stockings this year.

Steveston also has a couple of great used book stores – they didn’t have what I was looking for but I will definitely return there if only to breathe in the used book smell.

So what do you think about a thrift shop holding a themed sale like the Curio Sale mentioned above? What would be your theme of choice?

This entry was posted in antiques, CDs, clothing, Jewelry, music, Records and CDs, second hand, thrift, thrift lifetstyle, Thrift Shopping, thrift shops, vintage and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.