Black Friday Thrift

Black-Friday-Phone-DealsNot sure if you’ve heard but there’s a sale on today. EVERYWHERE. Black Friday should be called Frenzy Friday, it’s the ultimate in consumption, the Olympics of shopping.

I understand why people do it: people want to save money. There’s nothing wrong with that, of course, I want to save money too. That’s why I shop thrift and why I want to challenge you to make a conscious decision to shop thrift today.

o-BLACK-FRIDAY-HELL-570I realize that I’m probably preaching to the choir here but every day is ‘black’ when you shop thrift. Thrift shops provide shoppers with access to nearly everything you could buy new but at a fraction of the price. And the best part is, you are almost always supporting the good work of a charity in the process; MCC thrift shops say “every purchase is a gift to the world’ – and it’s true, your purchases at a thrift shop make a difference to the people that charity serves.

fairtradeinitiative_logo

The other obvious choice for people who want to make a statement today is to shop Fair Trade. Fair Trade stores offer goods made by artisans who have been given a fair wage for their work. My favourite Fair Trade store is Ten Thousand Villages – a fantastic place to shop for craft items, accessories and food items.

Where will you shop today?

This entry was posted in black friday, consumerism, fair trade, second hand, thrift, thrift lifetstyle, Thrift Shopping, thrift shops and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Black Friday Thrift

  1. Emma says:

    Rosetta Stone. I downloaded a very expensive language course for the kids. It was $200 off and covered by our beautiful British Columbia school system. I’m very thankful. 🙂

Comments are closed.