Be It Resolved

thrift-shop-300x150I’ve written before about my experience as a volunteer at the MCC Abby East Thrift Shop in Abbotsford. I made the decision to volunteer several years ago. It was my New Year’s resolution and it’s actually the only resolution that I’ve kept – until this past fall when my job changed and I had to adjust to a new work schedule.

Last Saturday I actually spent some time volunteering again and was reminded of a few things.

the nicely sorted racks at MCC Abby East

the nicely sorted racks at MCC Abby East

I really miss doing this! It feels so good to do work that is so different from what I usually do. It uses a different part of my brain. It’s a little bit physical. It’s satisfying to organize and sort and tidy (in a way that feels totally different from having to do that at home… what’s with that?) I have to find a way to bring this back into a regular routine in my life again.

why are we so drawn to stuffies?

why are we so drawn to stuffies?

Volunteering isn’t age dependent and it doesn’t take a lot of time. You don’t have to wait until you’re retired to volunteer because you don’t have to commit to a huge chunk of time. Anyone can volunteer even as little as a couple of hours. I gave the shop about two hours last Saturday and it made a difference in the toy department where almost no one volunteers. You should come join me there!

what a great way to recruit volunteers, or tell folks something about your shop, or the charity you support - think of the endless things you could do in this little advertising space!

what a great way to recruit volunteers, or tell folks something about your shop, or the charity you support – think of the endless things you could do in this little advertising space!

The need for volunteers is huge. Most thrift shops rely heavily on volunteers to do everything from sorting to pricing to working the till. Without them, the shops couldn’t operate efficiently or they’d have to hire people which cuts into their funds and reduces the amount of money they can generate for their charity.

So if you haven’t made a New Year’s Resolution yet, consider volunteering at your local thrift shop. (If you’ve already made a resolution, just break it already and get it over with, then go volunteer.) I know that MCC Abby East could use more volunteers in every area – especially the toy department! I’m sure that other thrift shops would also welcome people like you who are already interested in thrift. Just contact the shop to find out how you can get involved.

What are you waiting for?

This entry was posted in thrift, thrift lifetstyle, Thrift Shopping, thrift shops, Volunteering and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.