A Tale of Two Coats

john and aaron coats croppedHere’s my men, both wearing coats that were thrifted.

John (that’s my hubby) bought his at a flea market in Rome in December 1986, when we were there on our extended honeymoon. We were in Italy in December during one of the coldest Decembers on record and headed to Germany for the winter where John would study German.

john coat sleeve buttonsWe had not anticipated the cold so our host took us to the flea market to see what we could find. We each bought a warm, wool coat for peanuts.

Us with Lydia Kalchtahler at her guesthouse in Kappel, Germany (just outside of Freiburg) and some of the Iranian students who stayed with her. We spent quite a bit of time here until we found a permanent place to stay while John studied. Anyway, there's my coat before it was trashed.

Us with Lydia Kalchtahler at her guesthouse in Kappel, Germany (just outside of Freiburg) and some of the Iranian students who stayed with her. We spent quite a bit of time here until we found a permanent place to stay while John studied. Anyway, there’s my coat before it was trashed.

Between me and my sister, we basically wore mine right out. John usually wears his only for Sunday best and so it’s lasted this long; which goes to show you that when you buy quality and treat it well, it can last a lifetime.

aaron coat sleeve detailAaron got his recently at the MCC Abby East Thrift Shop in Abbotsford for $15. It’s wool and cashmere, made in England by the now-gone Eaton’s – which makes it a collector’s item too.

aaron coat eatons tagAgain, it’s the kind of coat he’ll only wear when he’s dressing up to go out somewhere so, if he’s smart and treats it like his father (and not like his mother and aunt treated mine) he should never have to buy another coat like it again.

English and French - Canadian!

English and French – Canadian!

Do you have a gem in your closet like these? Something that you got for nothing and that you’ve had forever? I’d love to hear its story.

This entry was posted in clothing, second hand, thrift, thrift lifetstyle, Thrift Shopping, vintage and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Tale of Two Coats

  1. Wendy Whittaker says:

    You are my hero, such a thrifter. Great story and I can’t believe how mature Aaron looks! He’s a handsome boy. Here’s my story….I bought Tim a leather jacket for $40 bucks back in 1987 and last week he wore it to Church. I must admit that it looks like a product of the ’80s (big collar and shoulder pads, lol) but the fact that it still fits him is nothing shy of a miracle.

    • ya, that “still fits him” part is the miracle! can’t say that I still own anything from 1987… well I still have my wedding dress form 1986 but it does NOT fit. egads. still, it’s as i say, weight gain/loss notwithstanding – if you buy quality (even thrifted) and take care of something it really will last!

Comments are closed.