Thrift in the Garden. Literally.

Camelia in the evening light. This is my favourite flower picture from this season.

Camelia in the evening light. This is my favourite flower picture from this season.

For those who know me, it’s no secret that I don’t like gardening. I love having a garden and I enjoy watching things grow, seeing the bees and the birds, smelling the heavenly scent of lilac and roses. I just don’t like the work.

I have purple and white lilacs and when the windows are open, their scent wafts through the house. amazing

I have purple and white lilacs and when the windows are open, their scent wafts through the house. amazing

So, a garden is a thing of beauty and a job forever, so if you have one, you have to do some work. I try to balance the pain of weeding with the joy of planting and yesterday, was a joy day.

thrift wide viewBut imagine my surprise when I found a plant that brings together two joys: gardening and thrift.

thrift flower signThis little beauty is called, you guessed it, ‘thrift.” I had to have it and since I got it at Costco, it was even cheap.

isn't it pretty? I planted it yesterday and the bees are already all over it. love that.

isn’t it pretty? I planted it yesterday and the bees are already all over it. love that.

What’s your thrifty gardening tip?

This entry was posted in gardens, thrift, thrift lifetstyle, Thrift Shopping and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thrift in the Garden. Literally.

  1. Terri says:

    Lovely flower. I like the ‘non-stop blooms all Spring” that sounds great. This time of year there are lots of fundraising plant sales around here. So that’s my garden ‘thrift’ many of the plants at the sales are split from someone’s garden and the money goes to good causes like community improvements. So I think everybody wins.

Comments are closed.