Dèanadach Alba

Me and John upon Scots Monument in Edinburgh

Me and John upon Scots Monument in Edinburgh

On Monday, I will board a plane with my dèanadach fear-cèile bound for bonnie Scotland. If Glosbe.com is to be trusted, dèanadach fear-cèile translates into “thrifty husband” – which is a very good way to describe my man, if not because he doesn’t like to spend money then because he doesn’t like to shop. Period. (Alba, by the way, is Gaelic for Scotland.)

beaches on the Isle of Westray, where John's grandfather comes from

beaches on the Isle of Westray, where John’s grandfather comes from

That said, he does appreciate value (I’d like to think that’s partly why he married me) and will spend money if it’s a good investment. This trip is a case in point. We started planning this trip on the flight home from our last trip to Scotland in 2011. We spent three weeks there last time and were smitten with the landscape, the food (truly), the people, the culture, the… place. John’s ancestors come from Westray, in the Orkney Islands and this time we will venture that far north and farther still to Shetland. This time, we’ll be there for 6 weeks, investing in ourselves and each other, our marriage.

the famous seaweed-eating sheep of North Ronaldsay

the famous seaweed-eating sheep of North Ronaldsay

We have a few things we really want to do while we’re there: rest, rejuvenate, journal, write, hike, go birding, go golfing (John) and go thrifting (me), of course. We’re going to explore ruins and churches, graveyards and beaches. We’re going to live in a lighthouse for a week, surrounded by seaweed-eating sheep. We’ll spend time in Unst in a zero-carbon house. We’ll also stay in more “normal” B&Bs and inns. We’re looking forward to the people we’ll meet, who will undoubtedly enrich our lives as we spend time with them.

evidence that John will thrift shop if he has to - seen here at Value Village in Langley where he bought that fleece sweater for our trip

evidence that John will thrift shop if he has to – seen here at Value Village in Langley where he bought that fleece sweater for our trip

I’ve already scouted out thrift shops in Glasgow and Lerwick and a few other gems that I’ll write about. I’m hoping to meet up with and have a cuppa with the writer of Purse Full of Pennies, a thrift blogger in Edinburgh. I’ll update this blog and share these experiences and my finds with you – if you’ve been to bonnie Scotland and have a favourite charity shop to share with me, let me know know and I’ll definitely try to check it out!

This entry was posted in second hand, thrift, thrift lifetstyle, Thrift Shopping, thrift shops, travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dèanadach Alba

  1. Melanie says:

    I wish you a safe and happy journey! With lots of bargains, beauty, good food and good weather.

  2. Christina says:

    Yay!!! Have a great time you two! Love that you are spending money on something so invaluable. Darnell and I have always said that we want to invest in experiences, not things 🙂 We love you guys and your example!!!

  3. What an amazing trip to take! I hope to make it to Scotland one day!

Comments are closed.