Thrift Score in Oban

Here I am, about the 3rd hole, on the Iona 'golf course'

Here I am, about the 3rd hole, on the Iona ‘golf course’

Not sure if you‘re aware of this but it rains in Scotland, eh? We went for a walk on the “golf course” in Iona (a cow\sheep pasture where the biggest hazard is the huge cow paddies and sheep poop you have to navigate) and got caught in a downpour. We both got soaked but John’s nylon jacket in particular was just not cut out for that kind of rain.

looking dashing in his new jacket.

looking dashing in his new jacket.

The next day we left for Oban and had some time to browse through the charity shops there. We found this fantastic waterproof/breathable jacket at the Oxfam Charity shop for 7 pounds – about $14.

loving this series so far - great story telling, great dialogue, fantastic characters (and yes, stimulating sex scenes!)

loving this series so far – great story telling, great dialogue, fantastic characters (and yes, stimulating sex scenes!)

Before I left on this trip I asked friends to recommend some Scottish-themed literature. Several friends recommended Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series. I started the first book just before we left, finished it on Iona, and picked up the next one in the series at the British Heart Foundation Charity shop for 2 pounds (about $4). Normally, I’d be peeved at paying that much for a used book in a thrift shop but it’s 1409 pages long… it’s like getting 3 books, really. So, score!!

It’s so fun thrifting while traveling. What’s your favourite travel-thrift find?

This entry was posted in second hand, thrift, thrift lifetstyle, Thrift Shopping, thrift shops, used books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thrift Score in Oban

  1. Karyn says:

    Hmm…I don’t know if it is my favorite… but we stopped in at a Value Village in Charlottetown and I picked up a nice looking hoodie for $4.99 to help me stay warm. I had not packed well for this trip and was glad for the thrift store option! Wish I were thrifting in Scotland too!

  2. ameppjanzen says:

    When living and travelling in Europe I had two memorable second-hand finds: one was a comfortable, cotton, long skirt (I wore it all the time) and the other was the book “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime”, which has turned out to be one of my favourite books of all time!

  3. Hi! I really like your post. I’m Cameron and I’m very interested in fashion. I think you would enjoy my posts; I would really appreciate a follow back! Thanks!

  4. A Hilo Hattie dress in Hawaii at the Salvation Army!

Comments are closed.