The Gift that Keeps on Giving

When I finished my job at MCC last October, my colleagues gifted me with a $75 gift certificate to the MCC Abby East Thrift Shop. SCORE! I never dreamed that it would take me almost a year to spend it. What the heck? I guess I thought I’d find some bigger ticket item to spend it on but I never did, so I ended up using it bit by bit and spent the last of it today, picking up a few little gems.

IMG_5162My sister-in-law recently took a photo of my mom-in-law when they went on a boat outing. She hadn’t intended to take this photo at all but her ‘oops’ turned into a wonderfully artistic shot that I LOVE. Today I found a nice frame and mat so that I could add it to my hallway arrangement of family photos.

IMG_5160Candles have to be one of the best things to pick up at thrift shops – especially votives that can cost up to $5 each. I got a package of 6 for $1.

IMG_5163I also picked up a couple of pairs of shorts – now that the season is almost over. The tan ones may have been a mistake… they feel a little tighter now at the end of the day than they did when I tried them on. Argh. I hate it when that happens.

IMG_5151I’m so glad that there are folks who knit these dish rags. They’re the best dish rags ever and for a couple of bucks a pop, they’re totally worth it – especially since that bit of money supports MCC!

Gift certificates to your favourite thrift shop make a great gift for the thrifter in your life. It sounds cliché but it really is the gift that keeps on giving.

What’s the best gift certificate you ever got?

This entry was posted in second hand, thrift, thrift lifetstyle, Thrift Shopping, thrift shops and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Gift that Keeps on Giving

  1. Liane says:

    Hi Angelica…if you bought the dishclothes at Abbey East then I am the one that knits them. I am aiming to knit 200 this year. Glad youmlikemthem and I agree…they are the best..:)

Comments are closed.