Main Street Meanderings

turnboutSpent a perfect day in Vancouver today exploring South Main and discovered a consignment shop that I had not heard of before.Turnabout Luxury Resale is on 14th and Main (but with other locations in Vancouver and South Surrey). As the name suggests, they deal only in designer labels and are therefore higher priced – but if you happen upon it on a season-end sale like I did today, you can still score big time in their clearance section.

lundstrom skirt fullI picked up a skirt by Canadian designer Linda Lundström for just $6. I tried to find the original online but couldn’t. Turnabout had originally priced it at $30, which I would not have paid. It was priced in the clearance section at $9 and today they had 30% off sale items. Hurray for me!

lundstrom skirt detail 1

I love the details on the skirt like the one, offset pocket on the front with the Renaissance-like painting patch on it.

lundstrom skirt detail 2The rip-cloth detail has a distinctly 80s-ish feel to it but that was my hey-day so I’m okay with that. I think I will get a ton of wear out of it because it’s very comfortable and the fact that it’s quite unique in an understated way means I can wear it in a lot of different contexts.

One of the things I appreciate about this store is that they support charities in their communities – Children’s Hospital in Vancouver and Sources White Rock/South Surrey Food Bank. It’s nice to see a business with heart.

Do you shop consignment? Or do you consign items? What’s been your experience with that?

 

 

This entry was posted in consignment, second hand, thrift, thrift lifetstyle, Thrift Shopping, thrift shops and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Main Street Meanderings

  1. SixBalloons says:

    This shop just opened as the defunct Blockbuster video finally closed its doors recently. I am really curious to check it out but $30 as the regular price sounds expensive to me too. However I am sure it is great quality and made in Canada!

Comments are closed.