Used Book Heaven

chilliwack-book-man-540x272I have blogged about the Book Man before but since they’re celebrating their 24th anniversary and it’s one of my favourite used book stores, I thought it worth a repeat blog post.

The original store is in downtown Chilliwack BC and they are having a 24th anniversary celebration this weekend (September 20th) with 24% off sales and all kinds of other fun stuff. My son and I visited their Chilliwack location last week and I scored big.

HP philosophers stone

Book 1, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. I now own books 1, 6 and 7

I’ve been hunting for this version of the Harry Potter books ever since I ended up with 2 copies of Book 7 in 2007.

Kids Books in Vancouver always held elaborate book-release parties.

Kids Books in Vancouver always held elaborate book-release parties.

For those of you who know my family, you know that we are die –hard fans and attended all but one of the book release parties that Kidsbooks in Vancouver hosted over the years. People knew better than to try and do anything with us on the weekend of the parties. We would get dressed up in costume, attend the party (best way to stand in line for a book EVER), get our book with custom decal on it and then read the book, out loud, to each other… all weekend long. It was an amazing experience that our family still talks about – I mean, honestly, when was the last time you read out loud to your 15 year old? Right?

every book that we purchased at a Kidsbooks release party had a custom decal made for that particular book. this one had a Ministry of Magic seal on it, others have had "Owl Post" decals, etc. very cool.

every book that we purchased at a Kidsbooks release party had a custom decal made for that particular book. this one had a Ministry of Magic seal on it, others have had “Owl Post” decals, etc. very cool.

But in 2007, when the final book was being released, we had booked tickets to fly to Ottawa before the book release date was announced. I know, I know: What were we thinking? Clearly, we weren’t. So we missed the awesome release party that Kidsbooks held at VanDusen Gardens in Vancouver and instead attended the much smaller, kinda lame party in Ottawa.

the colour-blocked dust jacket - this is the style of most of the hard cover HP books

the colour-blocked dust jacket – this is the style of most of the hard cover HP books

Since we had collected the books with the Kidsbooks store decals on them, I ordered a book from the Kidsbooks store anyway and also bought one in Ottawa – because, you know, it’s not like we could actually wait until we got home to read it, right?

my first HP book with this style dust jacket. very hard to find used.

my first HP book with this style dust jacket. very hard to find used.

But in Ottawa, they offered me a choice of the traditional, colour blocked books or this elegant, adult-oriented black version. So I chose that, thinking maybe I’d start collecting a set of those. Well, to collect those used is a little more challenging than I imagined it would be. You almost NEVER find them in either thrift shops or used book stores. I found book 6 a few years ago at the Salvation Army on 12th and last week, I found book 1 at the Book Man. Hurray! Half the fun is the hunt, right?

Do you have a favourite family book?

This entry was posted in books, Harry Potter, second hand, thrift, thrift lifetstyle, Thrift Shopping, thrift shops, used books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Used Book Heaven

  1. SixBalloons says:

    Don’t worry about missing the van dusen hp7 release party, it was not really too exciting. Of course, no experience can compare to actually cracking open the book and reading!!

Comments are closed.