Recipes for the Christmas Season: Vanillien Kifpeln

christmas baking angelOne of the things I – and let’s face it, everyone I know – love about the Christmas season is the food. You will laugh when I tell you that I have contemplated trying to lose weight at this time of year. I am currently resigned to trying to maintain current weight and not gain any. I’ll let you know how that goes.

This morning my mom handed me a little bowl of freshly baked cookies  and said “Na! It’s December! Ve don’t lose veight at Christmas, ve do dat in January!” (say this in a stern but loving voice, with a German accent.) One of my mom’s greatest qualities is her spirit of generosity and it really shines a Christmas time when she bakes up a storm, makes up cookie plates and shares them with everyone. She loves feeding people and by doing so physically, she also feeds us spiritually and emotionally.

So for this season, I’m going to share some of my favourite scratch recipes – because cooking from scratch is thrifty. I’ll share my thoughts on that as we go along.

the crescent shaped cookies are the Vanillien Kipfeln, the others are Spritzgebaek, i'll see if i can get her recipe for that and share it later!

the crescent shaped cookies are the Vanillien Kipfeln, the others are Spritzgebaek, i’ll see if i can get her recipe for that and share it later!

Today’s recipe is for my mom’s Vanillien Kipfeln – the crescent shaped cookies you see here. They are like a nutty shortbread and go down way too easy.

600 + grams of flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

500 grams sugar

500 grams butter

5 large egg yolks

1 tsp vanilla

250 grams ground almonds (almonds must be roasted first)

Beat sugar, vanilla, egg yolks, and butter. Add ground nuts. Mix baking powder into flour and add to make a dough. To know if the dough is firm enough, take a small amount into your hand and shape dough into a crescent about the size of your pinkie. If the dough feels limp, you need to add more flour. The crescent must be firm.

Bake at a 380 degree oven until lightly golden. Let cool on cookie sheet and when still slightly warm, roll cookies in icing sugar.

wouldn't you like to receive a plate like this?

wouldn’t you like to receive a plate like this?

Put these in a little Christmas tin or pretty plate that you picked up at the thrift shop and they make a lovely personal gift… that’s if you have any left after tasting…

What’s your favourite Christmas cookie?

This entry was posted in baking, christmas, Christmas recipes, recipes, thrift, thrift lifetstyle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Recipes for the Christmas Season: Vanillien Kifpeln

  1. Dagmar says:

    I’ve made Vanille Kipfeln since I was about 10 yrs old. Our version calls for only flour, sugar, butter and ground almonds. They are so melt in your mouth delicious!!! Merry Christmas everyone!

Comments are closed.