Active Thrift: for the Love of Reading

wouldn't you love a home library like this?

wouldn’t you love a home library like this?

A library is not a luxury but one of the necessities of life – Henry Ward Beecher

Okay, I know that reading isn’t exactly an active activity but it certainly can be thrifty. If you walk to the library or your favourite book store, then it IS an active activity! Not only that, a book can take you anywhere in the world and to other worlds!

I love the quote above which appears over the doors of the library in Abbotsford that I frequent. I couldn’t agree more with Beecher. A library ensures that anyone can access reading materials anywhere in the world. A library card is FREE – or rather, you pay for your libraries with your taxes so you should take every advantage of this wonderful resource.

books 2If you really need to own books or want your own home library, as I do, then thrift shops and used book stores are your best friends. I’ve blogged about the Book Man in the Fraser Valley, Brown’s Books in Burnaby, Powells Books in Portland and Russell Books in Victoria – but I am certain that there are hundreds of used book stores of which I am not aware.

best exotic marigold hotelI used to belong to a book club but for various reasons it came to an end. I miss having the opportunity to meet with other people and discuss a book. Occasionally, I’ll host a one-off gathering with my friends when I’ve found a book that is so good I have to share and discuss it with other people. This year, I decided to try a new book club hosted by the Abbotsford Library called W.I.N.O.S. book club (Women In Need of Sanity). They meet monthly and get their books from a list provided by the library, which are then brought in in bulk so the group can be assured they’re reading it all at the same time. The group is made up of a variety of women from all walks of life and mostly my age or older. I like the stimulating conversation that a group can bring to a book. We started with The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel by Deborah Moggach. I’d seen the movie years ago but didn’t even realize it was based on a novel. The book is quite different, not as “Disneyfied” as the movie, a little darker but you get to know the characters in much greater depth. Lots of great discussion about aging, adult children, and cultures. I recommend it.

So what’s the one book you’d recommend for this year?

 

This entry was posted in books, libraries, thrift, thrift lifetstyle and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Active Thrift: for the Love of Reading

  1. Julia says:

    That’s my dream library / living room!!!

  2. Charlotte says:

    The book I would recommend is: All My Puny Sorrow by Miriam Toews. It lingers long after the you put it down…

  3. Denise says:

    So many great books, how does one choose? I tried to define my ‘favorite’ book today and have found it to be impossible! That said I think Room by Emma Donoghue would make for interesting discussion.

Comments are closed.