Return to Victoria

me and my favourite traveling buddy

me and my favourite traveling buddy

I had another chance to accompany my hubby to the provincial capital last week and scored big at a couple of thrift shops in downtown Victoria. I’m always amazed at the number of thrift shops that populate the tourist area of this town: the Sally Ann rubs shoulders with a trendy bakery, the WIN thrift shop with a popular pub and so on. It makes for an interesting mix of humanity when you’re walking the streets and I really like that. Here’s what I found:

IMG_6428The Salvation Army on Store St. had a great collection of 45s and I came out with a sentimental find: The DiFranco Family’s “It’s a LoveBeat”. This was the first record I ever bought with my own money at the record store on Fraser Street (does anyone remember what that was called?) I always loved the B-side “Sweet, sweet Loretta”. I don’t know what I’ll do with this (Aaron says I should frame it) but for 50c, it was a total nostalgia buy.

IMG_6435I also found a great long sleeved Levis T for John. IMG_6431

On Pandora Street I stopped in at the Beacon Community Services thrift shop and bought a like-new sweater for John for just $3 (red tags half price!)

And a little further up the road at the WIN thrift shop, I found few quirky items. This is easily my favourite thrift shop in Victoria: great selection, interesting stuff, super friendly staff and nice environment.

Love this fun t-shirt:

IMG_6429And this quilted jacket/top caught my eye

IMG_6423 – the brass hook closures sold it.

IMG_6425Are you aware of other touristy cities that have great thrift shops?

 

This entry was posted in Records and CDs, second hand, thrift, thrift lifetstyle, Thrift Shopping, thrift shops, travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Return to Victoria

  1. kathy J says:

    Good finds! I was surprised at how low the price on the sweater was.

Comments are closed.