The Paper Hound Book Shop

Gazing out the window of the Victorian Hotel, right around the corner from a used book shop: perfect.

Gazing out the window of the Victorian Hotel, right around the corner from a used book shop: perfect.

My sweetheart and I spent a night in Vancouver celebrating my birthday. We stayed at the Victorian Hotel, a quaint little place on Howe and Pender. As it happens it was right around the corner from the Paper Hound Book Shop – a little used book shop. Bliss.

The Paper Hound Bookshop, 344 West Pender

The Paper Hound Bookshop, 344 West Pender

I knew it would be good from the moment I walked in because of the way it smelled – you know, that lovely, kind of musty smell that you get from old paper backs. They have quite a collection of rare and first editions. A whole dresser full of old maps. Interesting old children’s books, a good sci-fi and mystery section and tons of poetry.

two quirky finds.

two quirky finds.

I picked up these two: a poetry book by Mennonite poet Patrick Friesen and an old Edgar Rice Burroughs novel for my son.

 

I seriously think my next career is going to be working in a used book store…

This entry was posted in books, simple living, staycation, thrift, thrift lifetstyle, Thrift Shopping, thrift shops, used books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.