Second Hand Plants?

Scottish Thrift - bringing a little of my second-favourite country into my garden

Scottish Thrift – bringing a little of my second-favourite country into my garden

Yesterday I bought a few more plants for my garden and was thrilled to get a few more little pots of Scottish Thrift at 60% off, which I thought was appropriate. I wasn’t going to blog about this but as I thought about that serendipitous horticulture experience I found myself wondering what a garden-themed thrift shop would look like.

Under my backyard maple, purchased 15 years ago for $10 at a greenhouse that was closing down. Best $10 we ever spent.

Under my backyard maple, purchased 15 years ago for $10 at a greenhouse that was closing down. Best $10 we ever spent.

Imagine a place where green thumbs would donate their cuttings, their divided plants, the bulbs they dug up. Used garden tools looking for a new home could also find a place here. Seed packets that never got opened because, like me, they were bought in a fit of stupidity (who did I think was going to eat rutabaga and why did I think I could grow it?) What about extra compost? I imagine there could be a plethora of garden gnomes and plastic flamingos.

Maybe it wouldn’t work for such a venture to be year-round but it could function as a pop-up shop or a seasonal store. It would be cool if it could support a charity – farming projects overseas or supporting a neighbourhood garden plot project.

I have a black thumb, so I’m not going to be the one to take this idea forward but maybe you’re the genius who will run with it. If so, you’re welcome.

This photo is of them at an outdoor gig - who knew?

This photo is of them at an outdoor gig – who knew?

And if the title of this blog made you think of Second Hand Pants – here’s a link to the cute Second Hand Pants video put out by a groups of thrift enthusiasts connected to Mennonite Central Committee in Winnipeg (even though the video says MCC U.S.!) Enjoy.

This entry was posted in gardens, plants, second hand, thrift, thrift lifetstyle, Thrift Shopping and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Second Hand Plants?

  1. Laura says:

    I’ve just switched jobs and am now the manager at one of the MCC thrift shops in Winnipeg. We have some very generous gardeners who have been bringing in beautiful tomato plants and other divisions of plants. They don’t last long in the store! People in the inner city, where our shop is located, do find gardening expensive, so it is nice when we have the option of helping them out with some more affordable plants.

    And the Second Hand Pants are also from Winnipeg! https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Secondhandpants/13961397039?sk=info

    • I’ve corrected the text to reflect where the musicians are from – someone needs to tell MCC U.S. to indicate it on the video! Thrift shops around here also sell cuttings, seedlings and plants, especially in May when gardeners are starting to get serious about gardening. It is a lovely option to be able to buy your plants and support a charity at the same time!

Comments are closed.