Victory in Victoria

The Delta Ocean Point Hotel where we get to stay when we visit Victoria

The Delta Ocean Point Hotel where we get to stay when we visit Victoria

I’ve visited the lovely city of Victoria many times and love it. It’s a beautiful city – fitting for the provincial capital, methinks – plus I have a very good friend I meet there for lunch most times, which always makes it worth the ferry ride.

And the thrifting. Oh my.

There are a number of shops I usually visit, all situated in the downtown core, plus Russell Books and other used book shops or used music stores that it’s a bargain hunter’s paradise.

one of 27 comics, in plastic sleeves, no less, and 3 graphic novels.

one of 27 comics, in plastic sleeves, no less, and 3 graphic novels.

On my first day there, I stopped at the Salvation Army and the first thing I found was a huge collection of comic books. Now, I am not a comic book buff, by my son is, so I got on the cell phone and we sorted through the whole lot together.

in heaven. hopefully he'll make a profit when he sells these!

in heaven. hopefully he’ll make a profit when he sells these!

I got 27 comic books and 3 graphic novels for $43. Needless to say, I’m a pretty popular mom.

jean skirt

the embroidery sold the skirt

the embroidery sold the skirt

I also found a great jean skirt and pair of Columbia culottes for myself. Score!

the tag on my Columbia cullottes - made in Jordan. don't think I've ever seen that before.

the tag on my Columbia cullottes – made in Jordan. don’t think I’ve ever seen that before.

Russell Bookstore always delivers for me and didn’t disappoint this time: two Poirot books for my collection.

agatha booksLater that afternoon, I stopped at WIN – my favourite thrift shop in Victoria. I’ve blogged about this shop before, they just do all of it right.

mec shorts

okay, so they need a little ironing. but they’re in perfect shape otherwise!

I found a pair of MEC shorts in mint condition for John.

jockeysI know people are squeamish about buying second hand undies but when they’re Jockeys, unopened in their packaging for $1? Then I buy them. (and yes, I look exactly like that in my undies. Ahem.)

mondetta brazilmondetta backBut my Brasilian-born brother-in-law is going to benefit from my best score. A like-new Mondetta Brasil jacket. Best part? On the clearance rack for $6.50.

RIGHT?

What’s your favourite thrifting town?

This entry was posted in MEC, second hand, thrift lifetstyle, Thrift Shopping, thrift shops, travel, used books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.