Thriftless in Seattle

Century Link Stadium where we watched the Vancouver Whitecaps defeat the Seattle Sounders 3-0. It was pretty wild.

Century Link Stadium where we watched the Vancouver Whitecaps defeat the Seattle Sounders 3-0. It was pretty wild.

And Portland… and Abbotsford… it’s been a pretty slow summer for me so far! And not necessarily for lack of trying. Here at home, I’ve bought a thing or two- a pair of shorts, a book, but nothing so thrilling that I had to blog about it.

I love traveling by train.

I love traveling by train.

Earlier in July, we visited Portland, Oregon, one of my favourite cities. We took the train from Bellingham, Washington, which took a little over 6 hours (not much longer than it would had we driven) and we arrived fresh and excited to be there.

We did the “4T Loop” – the four “t”s stand for train, trail, tram and trolley. We took the train up to the zoo where the trail head is. Hiked 4 miles to the top of crescent hill to look at the lovely view and on to the Oregon Health Sciences University where we took the tram down to catch the trolley, which took us back to where we caught the train in the first place. It’s a nice little day excursion.

Here’s a few images of our extended weekend there.

 

 

We enjoyed craft beer, taking in the Haunted Pub Tour. We visited Powell’s Book Store – of course – and I did find a couple of Agatha Christie’s I didn’t own and some Asimov books for my son.

It was smokin’ hot on the Sunday, so we spent the day indoors taking in a Shakespeare play and going to see “Mr. Holmes” at the Living Room Theatre.

And, I visited the Goodwill thrift shop. This was the only truly disappointing thing in Portland. I always had the impression that Goodwill shops are true thrift shops, with bargains to be had. What I found instead, is that Goodwill is priced high or even higher than the Value Village here at home. Jeans for $30? I don’t think so. T-shirts at $7.99? No thanks. Even if the Canadian dollar had been at par (which it isn’t: I  had to add 30% to everything I bought) I wouldn’t have done it. I found a few really cool comic books for Aaron and that was it.

Action Philosophers is my favourite

Action Philosophers is my favourite

Seattle was similar, although to be fair, the only thrift shop I visited was in Pike’s Market, where everything is priced for tourists.

So it’s been a bit of a dud for me so far! What’s your summer been like? Let me live vicariously through your awesome thrift finds!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.