All in the Family

Oldhand Coffee shop and bakery gives a nod to the past with its pew seating, mismatched plates and silverware and antique photos. great baking, lovely iced chai.

Oldhand Coffee shop and bakery gives a nod to the past with its pew seating, mismatched plates and silverware and antique photos. great baking, lovely iced chai.

I spent a lovely morning and afternoon with my niece, Alivia; first having coffee and goodies at Old Hand Coffeehouse and Bakery and then thrifting. (My sister has raised her children right.) Felt like “Oldhand” was a good place to fuel up before going Secondhand shopping.

We began at (evil) Value Village where we both agreed the prices are still too high. I’ve blogged about this numerous times so we’ll just let that one lie. Despite our grumpiness about pricing, we both found things to make us happy.

i hate gardening but i love the paraphernalia that goes with it.

i hate gardening but i love the paraphernalia that goes with it.

I found two pairs of gardening gloves with the store tags still on them for $2.99 each.

look! my mom took a picture with a phone!

look! my mom took a picture with a phone!

Alivia scored huge with this MEC gortex jacket in great condition, for just $20. Considering that I just bought a new one for $220 (because, dear reader, I have looked in vain for over a year, to replace the MEC jacket that I bought in 2011 for $4, whose gortex has died, and have not found one. Until today, of course, and Alivia bought that one), she got a smokin’ deal. She also found a cool, pleather purse.

We picked up my son and then went to the (Mega) MCC Centre Thrift Shop and all found some deals. Alivia found a pair of leather hiking boots for her sweetheart and a couple of board games.

It's cool that John and his dad have the same initials - John's dad's name was James, which is also Aaron's middle name; he's named for both his grandfathers.

It’s cool that John and his dad have the same initials – John’s dad’s name was James, which is also Aaron’s middle name; he’s named for both his grandfathers.

Aaron picked up a cool red shirt that allows him to use his grandpa’s cufflinks that John inherited from his dad. The shirt was a green tag shirt, which happened to be 50% off today, so he got it for $2.

i like the detail pockets on these

i like the detail pockets on these

I found an elegant black jacket ($7, sorry, no photo) and a pair of shorts Haggar cargo shorts ($6) that feel like they’ve never been worn before.

I like the contrast in the buttons

I like the contrast in the buttons

Also picked up a really nice Avia shirt ($6) for John – I like the contrasting buttons.

 

This was a good way to spend a rainy day. What have you found lately?

This entry was posted in buttons, gardens, gloves, MEC, second hand, thrift, thrift lifetstyle, Thrift Shopping, thrift shops and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All in the Family

  1. LBoBA says:

    I purchased a ?leather? or ?pleather? purse the other day for $2 at the Oliver Thrift Shop.

    Just wanted to remind you – you can buy waterproofing spray at places that sell camping equipment, for when your Gortex de-gortexes in the future.

    • yes, I’ve purchased tech-wash for my gortex, which works great to keep your gortex items working UNLESS someone has washed your gortex item in soap and water for years before you got it; which is the case with my lovely $4 jacket. waterproofing spray works okay but they don’t actually recommend it for gortex. at any rate, i’m going to take very, very good care of my expensive gortex jacket and will use it for 20 years!

Comments are closed.