Festival Finds

The quilt auction is always a highlight. I just think these are works of art.

The quilt auction is always a highlight. I just think these are works of art.

One of my favourite events of the year happened this weekend: the MCC Festival for World Relief. This is where thousands of people gather at the Tradex to eat, bid, buy, donate and visit all in support of MCC’s work around the world.

This one's from last year - it was raining this year but he still cycled 40 km!

This one’s from last year – it was raining this year but he still cycled 40 km!

Our family has a few traditions: we always save our coins for the “My Coins Count” coin donation area. We eat Vereniki (cottage cheese filled perogies) with farmer sausage or Sausage on a Bun. My husband is the auctioneer at the Children’s Auction and rides in the Pedaling for Hope cyclathon.

also a photo from previous years but neither fellow has changed much.

also a photo from previous years but neither fellow has changed much.

And my son ALWAYS buys toques from Menno Boldt’s booth. The cool story here is that Menno invented a knitting machine that he could operate whilst watching hockey on TV. And he tell us that when he’s finished a toque, he puts his hand inside and asks God to convey a blessing to the wearer. Isn’t that lovely?

We did all of that this year and also scored a few gems at the garage sale:

cool, eh?

cool, eh?

Aaron, the budding film-maker, bought this old-school film projector – in perfect working order – for $10. He has no idea if he’ll ever find reel-to-reel film to play on it but he’s going to try.

i wonder if this place still exists?

i wonder if this place still exists?

I reminisced with him about being on the “AV Club” at South Hill Elementary School back in the 70s and actually used to know how to thread film into one of these. Not sure if I could bring that info out of my head now but if he ever finds film, I’ll give it a try!

luncheon plate on dinner plate

luncheon plate on dinner plate

My mom also found a set of my Corel dishes which is a huge find because these are discontinued and NEVER come to the thrift shops. We’ve had this set for nearly 20 years and have broken a few pieces (oh yes, dear reader, it does break!) so I was really happy when she found these to replace my broken ones and give me a few extras for entertaining.

Aside from eating great food and finding great stuff, what I really love about the festival is how it brings the community together for a common cause.

What’s your favourite fundraising event?

This entry was posted in auctions, community, food, garage sales, MCC, movies, second hand, thrift, thrift lifetstyle, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Festival Finds

  1. I don’t have a favorite but the local talent show is always worth attending or the Christmas fair. Though I would love to attend a festival for charity as you described

  2. I miss going to the relief sale so much!!!! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Comments are closed.