About that Resolution…

gotta love Calvin

gotta love Calvin

So last year, in January, I made a public resolution. Here’s what I said:

I’m going to start by being more diligent about curbside composting. There’s still a lot of stuff going into my garbage back that should be composted – like snotrags, for example. The second thing I’m going to do is become more aware of what I’m bringing into my home and evaluate things based on their packaging. If I can’t recycle it, I won’t buy it. I’m also going to pick up some reusable mesh bags for my produce.

So, how did I do?

compost bucket

i have a bucket like this under the sink for fruit & veggie scraps, coffee grinds & tea leaves. table scraps go in a bucket in the freezer until garbage day.

Curbside Composting:

Well, in terms of composting, I am doing quite well. My husband and I have become quite diligent about ensuring that we don’t throw recyclables or compostables into our garbage. We even bring things home to compost – my husband brings all the paper towels from his office home so we can compost them at the curb and when we go out for a fast food meal, we bring all of our packaging home with us so we can recycle/compost it. At the end of February I posted an update and we’ve maintained this pattern for the most part but it’s an area where we can still improve.

blufoammeat

What’s coming in?

This is where I’m struggling and I’m realizing it’s because I am not the only one bringing stuff into my house. I do most of the shopping for our home, so I am pretty diligent about buying things that are packed with ridiculous packaging. The one area where I still struggle is when I buy meat, because some stores where I get meat still package it on Styrofoam. It’s not even a matter of buying cheap meat vs. buying expensive meat – even the expensive meat sometimes comes on styro. So I’m still trying to figure that one out.

The other thing I have noticed is that since my son has begun working at a café, he brings home things in plastic containers. While I can recycle or compost most of that, it’s still extra garbage that is unnecessary. We might have to have a chat about taking reusable containers to work for this purpose.

ok. i can get these on amazon for $13. anyone know where i can buy these locally?

ok. i can get these on amazon for $13. anyone know where i can buy these locally?

Mesh bags.

This is where I failed. I just haven’t done it! I do reuse my plastic veggie bags or I don’t bother using bags at all but I’d still like to pick up some reusable mesh bags so that I’m not creating a need for plastic.

So… am I making new New Year’s resolutions? I am. I want to continue to reduce my consumption and be more conscious about what is coming into my home. My new resolution has more to do with self-care: I’ll blog about that next week.

What’s your new year’s resolution?

This entry was posted in compost, consumerism, New Years REsolutions, recycling, simple living, thrift, thrift lifetstyle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to About that Resolution…

  1. darlenedavy says:

    I have wondered during the year how the recycling was working for you guys! I loved the updates, was inspiring and definitely made me stop and think!
    As for the mesh bags, have you looked at Cobblestone in Abbotsford?
    Happy New Years family!

  2. Sonja says:

    I believe Welks on Main Street still carries the mesh veggie bags. I bought mine from there years ago. Next time I’m in there I’ll take a look for you.

  3. Pingback: A New Resolve | thrift shopper for peace

Comments are closed.