The Attic on Davie

A few weeks ago my hubby and I spend the weekend in Vancouver. Our hotel was just off of Davie Street so we wandered west on Davie looking for a great place for breakfast (which we found: Red Umbrella. Highly recommend this.)

Open or Closed? Hmmm....

Open or Closed? Hmmm….

I also noted a cute little thrift shop but was confused when we saw competing signs: Open and Closed? I wondered if it was a creative plea for volunteers: we really want to be open longer but we can’t because we don’t have the staff to operate 24/7! Turns out someone just forgot to turn off the Open sign. One thing I quite like about this shop is its operating hours. They’re open 11-7 week days, 11-5 Saturday and 11-4 Sunday. (They also have another location on Broughton that is has longer hours.) I wonder if other shops wouldn’t do well to consider this – open later, close later. It gives those of us who work 9-5 an opportunity to visit after work.

The Attic on Davie is small but the selection is eclectic and the staff are friendly. It supports Gordon Neighbourhood House, which has been part of the community since 1942. It offers a Community Lunch program, English conversation classes, playtime for babies and preschoolers, after school care as well as Qi Gong and Yoga.

have you read this? give me your review!

have you read this? give me your review!

I picked up a Mordecai Richler that I haven’t read yet, cost me $2.

What do you think about thrift shop hours like theirs? Do you think it would make it easier or harder to find volunteers

This entry was posted in books, community, second hand, thrift, thrift lifetstyle, Thrift Shopping, thrift shops, used books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Attic on Davie

  1. Melanie says:

    Thanks for this review. I recently heard about The Attic but haven’t been there yet. I’ll make a point of going now.

Comments are closed.